…..0f course he might just finish up all that birthday cake before you can nab some!  He is a sweetie though, one of the Gruffies from the House Mouse range and his name is Pebble.

I based my card on the current sketch over at Sketch and Stash:

And here’s Pebble enjoying his birthday:

The backing piece is from a pack by ADT (no, I haven’t heard of them either, but I have two small paper packs from them!!), and is embossed with circles on it.  I’ve had the pack for over two years and this is only the second time I’ve used a sheet from it!  The flowery paper is from a DCWV matstack of the same vintage as the backing piece, and the purple border is a scrap I had from The Paper Company, it’s a really shimmery paper IRL, and it last saw the light of day on a Penny Black card in February of 2009!  And the reason I’m telling you all this is that the Sketch and Stash challenge requires that you always use either your neglected stash or your brand new stash, it’s a great way of digging in your desk and pulling out all those things that we loved at one time but then put to one side.  Like that MS punch, I hate to admit it but this is only the second time I’ve used it!  On the plus side, the lovely Pebble stamp is brand new, I got it for Christmas and this is the first time I inked him up, let’s hope he doesn’t ever get consigned to the “has been” drawer!!

I water coloured the image with water colour pencils and also used a little dark grey ink on the bear, I usually do the bears in brown, but decided to go with a black bear for this one.  It’s cut out with the Nesties, mounted on to purple card and trimmed round by hand.  The ribbon and gems are from Michaels, the flowers are Prima and the little brad is from Making Memories.

 

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Michaels card blank ~ The Paper Company
  • DP: ADT pack ~ DCWV ~ The Paper Company
  • Stamp: Stampabilities Beary Nice Celebration
  • Inks: Versafine Black ~ Autumn Leaves Onyx ~ DI Victorian Velvet
  • Embellies: Ribbon and gems from Michaels ~ Prima Flowers ~ Making Memories brad ~ Water colour pencils
  • Tools: Nesties Labels Eight ~ Cuttlebug ~ Zig Aqua brush

Challenges:

Sketch and Stash ~ Sketch 53

House Mouse and Friends Monday Challenge ~ Embossing

House Mouse and Friends ~ Celebrate

The Crafty Pad ~ Something New (New stamp)

Simply Create Challenge ~ Use Punches (One MS punch and one Nestie)

Winter Wonderland ~ Pink and Purple

Crafty Cardmakers ~ Spotlight on Pencils

And one final picture.  The HM&F Monday challenge is for embossing and you can’t really see the embossed paper on the finished card, so I took a snap of it before pulling it out of the pad, the embossing shows up much better here.

