What can I say?  Apart from there’s snow on the ground and it’s -16C outside!!  Besides, Mimi was calling me from the drawer telling me to ink her up and colour her in, and if I didn’t I’d have to deal with the Polar Bear!  Yes, I know, I think the cold has addled my brain!

So Mimi saw ink, followed by water colour pencils and ink, and I have to admit I totally fell in love with her, such a little sweetie to colour.  I never really saw the appeal of these cute little girl stamps, even though they’re very popular, I only bought her because she was on sale (oh the shame!), but my mind has now been changed and I’ll be looking out for more of her little friends.  She’s a Penny Black btw, if anyone had any doubt!

I went for cool colours instead of the more traditional colours because one of the challenges wanted to see a blue and silver combination, it is an incredibly wintry combination and mimics perfectly the deep blue of todays sky and the glistening snow outside my window.  I decided to make a frame for the focal image and so stamped snowflakes in different shades of blue and silver all across a sheet before using a Nesties Label Eight die to cut out the center piece, which can be used for another project.

I found the little acrylic snowflakes in my Christmas stash, they’re labeled up as sequins, but I hid the center holes with blue gems, some are holographic and really shiney!  The sentiment is from a Fiskars clear set and is accented with punched silver branches and little blue flowers.  There’s a bit of Stickles here and there, on the holly and berries, for the snow Mimi is standing in and a touch on the flowers too.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Michaels card blank & Silver card~ The Paper Company ~ Bristol board from JoAnn
  • DP: DCWV Winter Stack
  • Stamps: PB Winter Kiss ~ Fiskars Winter Wonderland ~ Inkadinkado ~ Paper Mania Stamp Duo
  • Inks: ColourBox Q Quicksilver & Sapphire Blue ~ Memento Brilliance Moonlight White (Polar Bear), Summer Sky & Bahama Blue  ~ Stazon Midnight Blue ~ Versafine Black ~ Inkadinkado Ink Dot in Silver ~ DI Stormy Sky & Broken China
  • Embellies: Flowers from a UK pound shop ~ Stickles Holly, Xmas Red and Crystal ~ Water colour pencils ~ Silver EP ~ Blue gems from Michaels ~ Cartwright Sequins (packed for Hero Arts)
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Nesties Labels Eight ~ Marvy Uchida Scalloped punch ~ McGill Branch Punch ~ Zig Aqua Pens ~ Foam dots

*********************************************

Challenges:

Penny Black Saturday Challenge ~ January Sales (Mimi was only $7 from PBStamps, DCWV paper was 40% off )

Simon Says Stamp Challenge ~ “Bingo” – I picked Punches/Dies, Flowers & Gems

Fuzzy Wuzzy January Challenge – Anything Goes

The Critter Challenge ~ Blue & Silver, and pearls or rhinestones

The Crafty Pad ~ Something Girly (What’s the fascination with shoes!!!)

Crafty Hazel’s Christmas Challenge – Let’s See Some Bling

