Well, I hope so!!  I’ve been MIA for over a week now, haven’t made it inside my craft room in ages, so it felt so good today to be excited again about looking at my favourite challenges and planning a card or two.  In the last ten days or so, we’ve renewed our Green Card’s (we’re English but live in America), I’ve had car problems which are now fixed but it was worrying for a time and we’ve survived the Blizzard of 2011 (it mostly pushed North of us and only left us with 10″ of snow)!!  It’s snowing again today though, another 5″ would you believe, still, should be prefect for a bit of skiing tomorrow!  I think my mojo got a bit fed up with it all and headed off to sunnier climes for a few days and I find that if I don’t feel like doing any paper crafting I shouldn’t push it, just find something else to do for a few days!  Otherwise I just get very frustrated with myself and waste a lot of good supplies!!

So, the card, which is why you’re really here, not to listen to me rabbit on about mindless stuff!  It’s almost Valentines Day and Love is a very popular theme on a number of challenges this week.  It also gave me the opportunity to pull out my sheet of Hearts and Flowers stickers from Penny Black for only the second time in about three years!  Love those stickers but tend to overlook them a bit in favour of the stamps, they’re such good quality and are incredibly usable, not to mention pretty too.  I was also happy to sneak in a Penny Black stamp I got for Christmas called Corner Piece, love the air of elegance it lends to this card.

I first stamped an Inkadinkado Script stamp in Victorian Velvet on to white card, adding the corner piece in Fired Brick and edging the whole thing with Worn Lipstick.  The DP is by ProvoCraft and I also used it to stamp out the little hearts (Fiskars) and the letters (Hampton Art).  The main panel is a Penny Black sticker mounted on to bright pink Mulberry card stock and edged with deckle edge scissors.  The little hearts across the bottom are also from the sticker sheet and I mounted them on to the other side of the Mulberry card stock as it’s bright pink on one side and pastel pink on the other; I also covered these little hearts with Glossy Accents.  The ribbon pleating across the middle hid the join of the paper and card stock, and just for good measure I added a little line of red Stickles underneath it.  Before adding any embellishments I put the whole panel of inked paper and DP through the Cuttlebug with a Fiskars texture plate so it’s all lightly textured.

The inside of the card rather whimsically finishes off the “Love Is” sentiment from the front, with a heart mug and appropriate sentiment from another Fiskars clear stamp set.  I also used the Fiskars hearts again and the Penny Black stamp to tie it in.  The panel is edged and lightly covered with Worn Lipstick.

I had a lot of fun with this one today, it really felt good to be back in the swing of things again.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Michaels Card blank ~ The Paper Company
  • DP: ProvoCraft Serenity Stripe ~ The Paper Company Double Sided Mulberry
  • Stamps: Penny Black Corner Piece ~ Fiskars Latte Love &  Be Loved ~ Hampton Art Curlz Alphabet ~ Inkadinkado Script
  • Ink: DI Victorian Velvet, Worn Lipstick & Fired Brick ~ Versafine Black ~ Memento Rhubarb Stalk
  • Embellies: Penny Black Stickers Hearts & Flowers ~ Organdy Ribbon from JoAnn ~ Xmas Red Stickles ~ Glossy Accents ~ Fiskars Texture Plate “Grass”
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Deckle Edged Scissors ~ Marvy Uchida Round Punch

 

**************************************************************

Challenges:

Penny Black Saturday Challenged ~ “Love Is” finish the phrase

Allsorts ~ It must Be Love

Really Reasonable Ribbon ~ Pink, Red & White plus ribbon or trim

Crafty Card Calendar Challenge – Love

Simon Says Stamp – Love Is In The Air

Wild Orchid Challenge ~ Love Is

Stampin For The Weekend ~ Valentines

