I love clean and simple cards.  Although I don’t generally like to be put into a corner in terms of likes and dislikes, I really am happy to state that clean and simple does appeal to me.  I know I haven’t made any cards that would qualify in this category for quite a while, but it is something I love to come back to and find very easy to do.  White space is liberating as an artist, it’s incredibly powerful and visual too and I don’t find it intimidating in the least.  I have a small gallery of cards on Split Coast Stampers, that Holy Grail of stamping communities, and it’s the Clean and Simple ones out of all my cards there that have received the most views and the most comments.

I was so happy when Chrissie and Mandi announced a new joint venture a few weeks ago, a challenge blog entitled Less Is More, which will focus on the CAS technique.  It started yesterday with a colour challenge, and that was to use Pink, Black and White.

I was in the mood to make a Christmas card again as we’ve now received almost 18″ of new snow since last Sunday, and it’s snowing again briefly as I type this up!!  Luckily ABC Christmas challenge were also looking for CAS and have provided a great sketch to work from, which I rotated 90 degrees to better fit my LO.

And then I came across a new to me Christmas Challenge called Jingle Belles and this time round their theme is “Baby It’s Cold Outside” so they’d like to see things that keep you warm… scarves, hats, gloves etc, even felt is suggested if you’d like.

I couldn’t decide how many or which size gems to use on the pink organdy ribbon, so I threw caution to the wind and peeled off the whole strip of them!!  CAS isn’t about zero embellishments in my mind, it’s about detail but not clutter, and I think everything here works well, even the 32 sticky pink gems!!  The white card under the ribbon is actually slightly embossed and I carefully swiped the raised bit with a pale pink ink, but the camera isn’t picking it up at all unfortunately.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Michaels card blank ~ The Paper Company card ~ Making Memories “Swirl White”
  • Stamp: Inkadinkado Snowman ~ Recollections Sentiment from Celebrate The Season clear set
  • Ink: Versafine Black ~ ColorBox Q Chiffon White
  • Embellies: Ribbon from JoAnn ~ Gems from Michaels ~ Tsukineko Black Pen ~ Whispers Marker Pens
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Spellbinders Scalloped Circle Dies

*****************************************************

Challenges:

Less Is More ~ Pink, Black & White

ABC Christmas Challenge ~ A Sketch & Clean and Simple

Jingle Belles ~ Baby It’s Cold Outside

