We have a birthday coming up early next week in this house so naturally I made a card!  And also quite naturally for me, I reached for one of my House Mouse stamps too.  The birthday boy is my husband, and yes, I know his card has flowers on it, but he happens to really like flowers too and helps out a lot in the garden during Spring and Summer and even comes with me to the greenhouse to pick out our annuals for the hanging baskets and tubs by the front door etc.  He even helps get them all planted and moved into position too!  So I chose a flower for him, a big manly sunflower with a little mouse sunbathing in the middle of it.  He loves yellow, it’s his favourite colour and he also loves a bit of sunbathing int he summer months too, so I thought this was perfect for him.

The paper is from one of my favourite 8″ x 8″ paper pads called English Garden by Making Memories, I haven’t pulled it out since last summer so thought it would be a good candidate for a nice Springy, sun shiny card.  The stamp is probably one of my favourites in the House Mouse range but I haven’t used it before, I’ve had it since last August and this is the first time it’s seen ink!  The very first time I ever saw a card using a HM image on someones blog when I was hopping around a couple of years ago it was this stamp, and I fell in love with it instantly and finally added it to my little collection last year.  I love the little sunbathing mouse!

 

On this card he’s actually lying in abed of Black Diamond Stickles, which I bought especially.  I also considered then covering the Stickles with Glossy Accents to really make them pop but as it’s quite a large area I was a bit concerned about the paper warping from the moisture!  I cut it out with deckle edged scissors and added a few blue gems too.  The image was water coloured with my trusty pencils.

The LO is based on the Sketch and Stash current sketch, and the new/neglected stash I’m using for this card is the paper pad and the stamp, both a bit neglected and the new Stickles.  There’s also a bit of yellow organza ribbon on the right side and a few little flowers as well.  The sentiment comes from the clear Penny Black set Micey Day.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Michaels card blank ~ The Paper Company blue card
  • DP: Making Memories English Garden
  • Stamps: House Mouse Flower Bed ~ Penny Black Micey Day
  • Ink: Memories Black Dye Ink
  • Embellies: Water colour pencils ~ Black Diamond Stickles ~ Sandylion and JoAnn flowers ~ Gems and ribbon from Michaels ~ Tsukineko Black Pen
  • Tools: Deckle Edge Scissors ~ Foam dots

****************************************************************

Card Challenges:

House Mouse & Friends Monday Challenge ~ Your Favourite HM stamp

Sketch & Stash ~ Needs no explanation!!

Fuzzy Wuzzy Challenges ~ Birthday Wishes

Allsorts ~ Inspired By Nature

