As we’re currently under a Winter Storm Warning I thought I’d make another Christmas card!  The Spring like card of yesterday was obviously just a figment of my imagination, judging by the 10″ of white stuff outside my door today.  Oh well, Winter in Michigan still has another two months to run so I really shouldn’t be surprised, just grateful that today is Presidents Day and I don’t have to go in to work.

I made this card with a few challenges in mind.  It all started when I saw that the Jingle Belles ladies had a fantastic sketch for this weeks challenge that I knew I wanted to have a go at; Winter Wonderland are also looking for a Christmas card this week too, Crafty Hazel want to see snow (flakes, white, snow scene etc) and Phindy’s Challenge want to see a monochromatic card.  So I put all that together and came up with this:

I thought the sketch was brilliant as soon as I saw it and I quickly decided on a white and gold colourway for the monochrome portion of the challenge list.  I wanted to use my new Hero Arts Large Canvas Stripes stamp that I got last week, and I also dug out another new HA stamp that I got at Christmas but hadn’t used yet called Snowflake Tree.

I inked up the Canvas Stripes with ColourBox Brocade Gold and then over inked with a cheap, no brand, bright gold ink pad. The Snowflake Tree stamp was embossed in gold and cut down to a much smaller size so as not to overwhelm the circle which had been run through the Bug with the Swiss Dots folder.  All pieces were edged in gold before being matted.  The dark gold card was from Michaels, the ribbon was free with a UK craft magazine, the large Snowflake is from Jolee’s, the sentiment is Recollections and I cut it out with a Cuttlebug Slider die.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Card blank and gold card from Michaels ~ White card from The Paper Company
  • Stamps: Hero Arts Large Canvas Stripes & Snowflake Tree ~ Recollections Celebrate The Season
  • Ink: Memories Black ~ ColorBox Q Brocade Gold ~ Unknown Brand Gold Ink
  • Embellies: Gold EP from JoAnn ~ Ribbon free from UK card magazine ~ Jolee’s snowflake
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Slider Die & Swiss Dots Embossing Folder ~ Marvy Uchida Round Punch ~ EK Success Snowflake Border Punch

******************************************************************

Challenges:

Jingle Belles ~ A Christmas Card from a sketch

And because I’m using this sketch then I’m also allowed to link up this card at Sketchy Thursday’s, which is where the sketch came from.

Winter Wonderland ~ It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas (with 10″ of fresh snow, it certainly is!!)

Phindy’s Place ~ Monochrome

Crafty Hazelnut ~ The White Stuff

