Penny Black Saturday Challenge and Allsorts both want to see Green in your cards this week in order to celebrate St Patrick’s Day and our lovely Irish friends, well, not only have I managed a card for this but I’ve just realised I’m actually posting it on St Patty’s Day too!  All of our local radio stations were broadcasting from Irish bars and Irish themed restaurants this morning.  Today everyone can be Irish if they want to be, they even dye the beer green, really, they do!  It’s a far cry from years ago when they also dyed the Detroit River green too!  The Americans do like a good party I’ll certainly say that for them, but we all know there are only two kinds of people in this world: The Irish and those who wish they were.

Personally I know I don’t have a drop of Irish blood in me.  Cornish, yes, Northumbrian and Durham, yes, a little bit of Lancashire too and a smidgen of Scottish to liven up the mix.  My husband though, does have an Irish 3x Gt Grandmother, and a Welsh Grandmother too, along with some Cumbrian, Berkshire and Surrey.  His fathers family are all from  Cambridgeshire and the old county of Huntingdonshire, with one tiny little section from the beautiful county of Worcester.

But as usual I’m digressing, it was all that talk of whether or not you’re Irish!  So I’ll shut up and show you my heavily influenced Green card.

 

 

Although it has a lot of green in it, I decided to liven it up a bit with the addition of some rusty red.  The lovely backing paper is from a Papermania pack I got in England last year, I haven’t cut into it until now because it’s so beautiful!  I also used some light green Bazzil card and the strip of red is from a DCWV pack.  The lovely stamp is of course a Penny Black, a brushstroke called Daisy Fields that I inked up in Memento Red Brick and cottage Ivy before spritzing with water and stamping, I also edged everything with DI Bundled Sage.  The lovely border punch is called French Scrolls and is a Martha one, even though it says French on it, I really think it has a Celtic look to it!  I bought it before Christmas in a clearance sale, it’s actually a punch around the page set and, talk about the luck of the Irish, I only paid $15 for the set, about 10 quid!

 

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Michaels card blank ~ Bazzil Earth Tones pad
  • DP: Papermania ~ DCWV
  • Stamps: Penny Black Daisy Fields ~ Inkadinkado sentiment
  • Inks: Memento Red Brick & Cottage Ivy ~ DI Bundled Sage ~ Memories Black Dye
  • Embellies: Pearls and ribbon from Michaels
  • Tools: MS border punch French Scrolls ~ Marvy Uchida oval punch

 

******************************************************************

Challenges:

Penny Black Saturday Challenge ~ Green

Allsorts ~ Luck O The Irish (Green, good luck, Irish etc)

Penny Black @ Allsorts ~ Welcome Spring (gosh I’d love to see some pretty flowers in my garden, the Crocus are about to flower now the snow has gone!)

 

And remember, if you’re lucky enough to be Irish, you’re lucky enough.

