I haven’t decided yet!!  I haven’t made the insert for this one yet as I can’t decide whether it will be a birthday card or a Mothering Sunday card!  My Mam has an upcoming birthday in early April plus there’s Mother’s Day, which for us in America (and most of the world I think) is 8th May, whereas is England I think it’s in April from memory!   So, although this card currently only says “Thinking of You” on the front, the inside is either going to say “on your birthday” or “on Mother’s Day”.  Either way it’s for a very special lady, my Mam!

 

I used the wonderful sketch over at Less Is More this week, but it was only after taking the pictures that I realised that the central strip shouldn’t have gone to the edge of the card blank!  Hopefully that’s still OK!

 

 

The white card for my stamping is water colour paper and I followed a tutorial on the Hero Arts blog about a technique for layered stamping using this type of card, it’s a bit different to what I’d normally do for this technique but it was fun and a bit more involved too.  I might try this in more detail with a large panel another day.

So, to start I stamped the background panels with the Hero Arts Large Canvas Stripe in DI Antique Linen and the smaller panel with Stampabilities Le London in DI Aged Mahogany, and edged them both with Memento Night Sky.  For the circle, I first put DI Antique Linen and Scattered Straw directly on my stamping block, misted it liberally with water and pressed in on to my water colour paper.  I followed this up with the script stamp again in Aged Mahogany but I think I should have stamped off first!  Next I took a piece of waxed paper (from the kitchen) and pressed some DI and Memento inks on to it before pressing my Phlox flower stamp into it.  I wiggled it a little and lifted it up, changed the position and pressed it down again, then I turned it over and misted with water again before stamping.  I then used a punch to cut a piece out.  I really liked how this came out and want to make a larger panel for  something else now!  Here’s a close up of it all.

 

The text stamp on the background panel had also been spritzed with water before stamping to give a faded, worn kind of look.  I used a nestie to cut the pink circle and the band is a scrap of kraft left over from last weeks LIM card, with a few pearls on the right.  The sentiment is from an Inkadinkado clear set.

In hindsight I think I would have done two things differently with this: the first would have been to use the Canvas Stripe for the entire background, and I really should have stamped off first on the little central collage as the script is a bit too bold, or even clear embossed it like they did on the video.  This was a fun technique though and really wasn’t as labour intensive as it sounds.

 

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Michaels card blank cut down to make a card that was taller than it was wide ~ The Paper Company Water Colour Card ~ Kraft from JoAnn
  • Inks: DI Antique Linen, Scattered Straw, Aged Mahogany, Victorian Velvet & Worn Lipstick ~ Memento Night Sky, Bamboo Leaves & Bahama Blue
  • Stamps: Phlox by Kathy Davis for Inkadinkado ~ Garden Flower by Brenda Walton for Inkadinkado ~ Hero Arts Large Canvas Stripes ~ Stampabilities La London Script
  • Embellies: Pearls from Michaels
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Marvy Uchida round punch ~ Nesties Classic Scalloped Cirles

 

**********************************************************

Card Challenges:

Simply Less Is More ~ Sketch plus CAS – not 100% sure if this can still be classed as CAS??

Allsorts ~ A Special Lady

Simon Says Stamp ~ Mother’s Day/Girlie

 

