Tags

I’ve made cards very similar to these a couple of years ago but this beautiful stamp of a pine bough has been languishing at the bottom of the Christmas stamp box for nigh on two years now, so I dug it out again.  Although I make a lot of different styles of Christmas card I really do love something that looks very traditional and perhaps a little bit vintagey.  I like my Christmas decorations to look like that too, really hate those fake white Christmas trees or pink and purple baubles and such, I always want to bring the outside in, a real tree, pine garlands, fresh greens on the front door and usually really traditional colours of red, green and gold.

As much as I love the cute House Mouse and Penny Black stamps for Christmas, a card like this one really stands out for me.  I suppose I’m just a rustic, nature loving kind of girl at heart.

Hhm, think the old photographer has been at the Sherry again!  I started off with a piece of cream card that I’d edged in DI Antique Linen.  The branch stamp was inked up with Brilliance Pearlescent Ivy and Coffee Bean, and the bauble was inked with Memento Fluid Chalk Red Brick and clear embossed.  The little sentiment is from a Recollections (Michaels own brand) clear set and was stamped with Memories Dye Ink.  That’s pretty much it apart from a hand draw line to connect the bauble to the branch and a little bit of glitter on the pine cones.

As you can see I made two of these cards with different bauble stamps, but what you can’t make out from here is that I managed to blur the sentiment stamp a little bit on the one on the left, so I’ll have to do something about that.  Most likely I’ll just stamp it on another piece of paper, cut it out and raise it up over the first sentiment.  I also think I prefer the sentiment further down in the bottom left corner, like the card with the round bauble.  So, a quick and easy card, might bear this one in mind again later on in the year as it looks very effective and complicated, even though it’s not.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from JoAnn kit ~ TPC cream card
  • Stamps: Papermania Stamp Duo Snowfall ~ TPC Studio Christmas Glamour ~ Recollections Merry Merry ~ Stampendous Pine Branch
  • Inks: Memento Brilliance Pearescent Ivy and Coffee Bean ~ Memento Fluid Chalk Red Brick ~ Memories Black Dye Ink ~ DI Antique Linen
  • Embellies: Frosted Lace Stickles ~ EP from JoAnn
  • Tools: Heat Gun ~ Tsukineko Black Pen

********************************************************************

Challenges:

Bah Humbug ~ Christmas Trees (Well, I’ve got a pine branch!  But fear not ladies, I coloured a cute HM image last night, so there will be another card forthcoming with a real Christmas tree on it)

Winter Wonderland ~ Oh Baubles

Crafty Hazel’s Christmas Card Challenge ~ Make a Square Card (These are 5″ square)

Jingle Belles ~ Seasonal Foliage

