Phew, what a week!  The crap really hit the fan at work this last week and I found myself staying on until 7pm, along with my colleagues, to stabilize and avert a minor catastrophe.  A couple of the others still have to go in this weekend to finish up but I got my bit done, thankfully, although the price I paid was no crafting of any sort, no What’s On Your Workdesk Wednesday, no knitting, no reading, no blogging and not enough sleep!  We have a bit of a wet weekend here, and for the next few days actually but I’m really grateful for it because it means I can put my feet up and relax a bit, or in my case, craft for a bit as it amounts to the same thing!

So it’s Penny Black time again and I have a lovely image for you this week provided by the equally lovely Sandra, called Dotted Petals.  I absolutely adore Lilies, they’re my favourite flower and I have quite a few in my summer garden.  Penny Black Saturday Challenge gave us a great sketch to follow and Allsorts want to see Blooming Blossoms.  Just perfect for a dreich weekend, it was nice to get the pretty papers and embellishments out I can tell you.

Love that Lily, this one’s going on my wish list for sure, you could colour it just about any colour combination imaginable.  I water coloured it with inks and pencils and added a little Stickles to the centre.  The sketch called for a few flowers or other embellishments around the oval and it took me longer to pick out the ones I wanted to use than it did to put the whole darn card together!  There’s something to be said for not having too much choice!  The pretty paper is from Hot Off The Press and I’ve been stashing it away for a special day, like you do!  The sentiment is from Fiskars.

As much as I really like this card I keep thinking it needs a bit of something else in the area of the ribbon stripes!  Just can’t decide what to do with it right now, any opinions?

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Michaels card blank ~ The Paper Company
  • DP: HOTP Pink Handmade Flowers
  • Stamps: Penny Black Dotted Petals ~ Fiskars Cameo Ovations Clear Set
  • Inks: Martha Stewart Pink Carnation, Hibiscus &  Meyer Lemon ~ Colourbox Q Warm Violet
  • Embellies: Ribbon from Offray ~ Magenta Stickles ~ Prima Flowers ~ Small pink flowers from Michaels ~ Making Memories Brad
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Nesties Large Ovals

 

*********************************************************

Challenge:

Penny Black Saturday Challenge ~ Sketch

Allsorts ~ Blooming Blossoms

St Lukes Charity Challenge ~ Say It With Flowers

