Well, I seem to making up for the lack of crafty makes and blogging this week by knuckling down and (enjoying) getting on with it.  PBSC had a lovely sketch challenge yesterday and I discovered that Simon Says Stamp also had a sketch challenge too, and oddly enough, the sketches were both by the same person who is a DT member of both challenges!

Penny Black @ Allsorts kicked off a new monthly challenge on Friday too, that that was to use black, white and one other colour.  For some reason completely unknown for me I picked blue, it’s a colour I rarely work with unless it’s for a Christmas card, but as soon as I saw the challenge that’s what popped in to my head.  But I’ve got a whole month, so if I get time I can always enter it again with another colour combo.  Anyway, here’s the card:

 

 

 

The image is once again a Penny Black, Mixed Media, which I resist embossed in black with various shades of Memento inks.  The central blossom was coloured with Memento Fluid Chalk inks applied directly with paper blending stumps, and I also stamped and coloured a second one and decoupaged it for a bit of effect, adding a bit of Turquoise Stickles for embellishment.  Oddly enough, I managed to pick exactly the same piece of DP out of my 12″ x 12″ box as yesterdays card, only in blue this time not pink.  For my embellishments I decided to use a little cluster of blue flowers in place of the more traditional single flowers, and I added little flow gems to three of the corners.  The sentiment is from a Fiskars clear set.

 

Here’s a close up of the decoupaged flower, which I decided was a Meconopsis.  That’s a Himalayan Blue Poppy for those of you who don’t know your flowers!  An acid loving poppy originally from the Himalayas which grows abundantly in some of the beautiful gardens in Scotland.  I first saw this beautiful flower at Inverewe Gardens on the NW cost of Scotland many years ago.

 

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Michaels card blank ~ The Paper Company black card for matting ~ DCWV Robin textured card ~ Strathmore Artists Bristol card
  • DP: Hot Off The Press Blue Handmade Flowers
  • Stamps: Penny Black Mixed Media ~ Fiskars Cameo Ovations
  • Inks: Memento Bahama Blue, Danube Blue, Paris Dusk, Aegean Blue & Night Sky ~ Versamark
  • Embellies: Jolees blue flower spray ~ Turquoise Stickles ~ JoAnn Black EP ~ Flower gems
  • Tools: Heat Gun ~ Marvy Uchida Oval punch

 

*************************************************

 

Challenges:

Simon Says Stamp Challenge ~ Sketch

Penny Black @ Allsorts ~ Black, White & one other colour

Allsorts ~ Blooming Blossoms

 

