No, I’m not getting a jump on next year’s Mother”s Day, American Mothering Sunday is on May 9th and as I don’t have a British calender at home, I rarely find out in time what the English Mothering Sunday date is to make and send cards and gifts.  So in this house, it’s the American one that is observed.  Don’t think our Mum’s really mind as they both have another son and daughter each to give them cards and flowers at the appropriate time in April, and then, just as they’ve forgotten all about it, our cards and flowers arrive in early May.  So they both get two Mother’s Days in a year!  Works out quite well really!

So I made this card for a couple of challenges.  Penny Black Saturday Challenge would like you to Say It With Flowers, and Allsorts want to see Anything But a Square card, so this is what I did:

The little stamp is brand new and is called “Greetings” and I water coloured him with various inks adding a little Stickles to the daisy centre and colouring the ladybird with glitter pens.  I cut all of the shapes with  Nesties Dies and proceeded to cover the top layer with yellow inks.  What possessed me to do this I’ll never know as I’ve got a stack of yellow card that I rarely use!  Could have saved myself a bunch of time!!  The lush DP is DCWV Cafe Mediterranean and it’s all raised and embossed and the ric rac trim is actually paper not ribbon.  On the stamp the little hedgie is holding another large daisy type flower aloft but I thought it might be fun to cover that bit up with a Prima flower and a Recollections rose.  A few gems finishes it off.

I also decided to decorate the inside a bit, as this card is obviously for a special person.  Excuse the hand holding it open, I’d meant to take the picture before I stuck the two halves together but forgot.  It’s also a bit close to the light so the colours are a little bit bleached out.

The backing paper is from a really old DCWV stack, long before they got really fancy!  I generated the sentiment on the computer and then added some tiny little See-D’s stamps I have where all the shoots, leaves and flower heads are separate so you can mix and match, they’re a bit like peg stamps only they’re not in little pegs!!  Anyway, I stamped a little border in New Sprout, added a few stalks in Bamboo Leaves and some little starburst heads in Tangelo, along with a few Purple Hydrangea (ink colour) flowers.  It’s edged in Citrine ink.

I had a lot of fun with this but I now have to make another one as Andrew immediately claimed it for his Mum, and I know how much my own Mam would love this too.  Still, should be quicker second time round, and I’ll definitely be using the yellow card to make the backing pieces with!!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Canson Bristol Board
  • DP: DCWV
  • Stamps: Penny Black Greetings ~ See-D’s
  • Inks: DI Antique Linen, Vintage Photo, Scattered Straw & Spiced Marmalade ~ Memento Tangelo, New Sprout, Bamboo Leaves & Purple Hydrangea ~ Stampology Citrine & Onyx ~ ColorBox Q Chiffon White & Rosebud ~ Martha Stewart Meyer Lemon & Hibiscus ~ Rubber Stampede Green
  • Embellies: Water colour pencils ~ Gems and rose flower from Michaels ~ Orange flower from Prima ~ Paper ric-rac from Trim With Flair ~ Fiskars Glitter Pens ~ Yellow Stickles
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Nesties Large Scalloped Circles ~ Computer & Printer

*****************************************************************

Challenges:

Penny Black Saturday Challenge ~ Say It With Flowers

Allsorts ~ Anything But A Round Card

Paper Play Challenges ~ Critters Galore

Hanna & Friends ~ Use a Penny Black Stamp

CRAFT Challenge ~ Animals/Pets

Simon Says Stamp ~ Spring Colours and/or Easter

