Well after a really busy Sunday I think I deserve some quiet time!  The garden has been worked on some more, shrubs and trees got a drastic haircut, a bunch of perennials were moved, the last of the home grown peppers and tomatoes were planted as were a few new perennials and a self seeded clematis, plus the last of the bags of mulch were put down…… and that was after a 20 mile bike ride this morning!  So I’ve come upstairs to my little room for a rest!

Less Is More this week is a one layer challenge and if that isn’t enough of a challenge in itself we’re also to work in the use of Frames somehow.  I was in a kraft mood, I’ve been in one for a while actually, really enjoying using it.  This time round I was using up some scraps and came up with some little cards 3″ x 6″ and one that’s 3″ by 4″.  These are the two taller cards which haven’t worked out really well but I thought I’d post them anyway!

I absolutely loved the Dogwood stamp in black on the left, but decided that the frame was too light and it was positioned a bit too low so I stopped working on it, hopefully I’ll think of something to do with it.  I don’t know where the one of the right came from, why I’m channeling Autumn when we’re only just starting on summer I’ll never know!  But I do like the colours on this one, although I think it looks a bit bare at the top at the moment.

This one was my third one and is the smallest of the bunch, it’s also my favourite:

The stamp is from the same set as the Dogwood stamp, a TPC Studio set called Morning Glory.  I added one single pink gem to it and highlighted with a little Cotton Candy Stickles.  The bakers twine is more pink and white than red and white IRL.

Short and sweet, I’m off to rest my weary bones in a hot bath!!  Oh, before I forget, I have a 500th post giveway going at the moment, have a look here and put your name down if you’d like to give it a go.

Card Recipe:

  • Card Stock ~ Kraft from JoAnn
  • Stamps: TPC Studio Morning Glory & Autumn Harvest ~ Fiskars Vintage Farmhouse (the fancy frame)
  • Ink: Memento Brilliance Pearlescent Ivy, Red Brick, Copper Crimson, Gingerbread, & Sahara Sand ~ Memories Black Dye Ink
  • Embellies: Bakers Twine ~ Cotton Candy Stickles ~ Gem from Michaels

************************************************************

Challenges:

Less Is More ~ One Layer with Frames

Jules Sunday Snippet Challenge – Use Up Your Scraps

