There’s quite a party going on at the Penny Black Saturday Challenge blog this week as they turn three years old!  Penny Black was the first brand I fell in love with and soon after that I started entering the challenges for PB stamps that I could find, so this one is a little bit special for me.   I entered my very first challenge card to PBSC many moons ago, and a couple of years on I’m still here, and my little collection of PB’s has grown somewhat!  But I’m probably not alone in that revelation!

My card this week is based on the latest sketch at Sketch and Stash, although it’s already closed for this time but I still liked the sketch, I’ve had it printed out for about 10 days but couldn’t make my other projects fit with their requirements until today.

It’s a 6″ square kraft card, covered with plain copy paper that I found in the study and rather like the look of!  I think Andrew must have bought it for whatever reason but it came in handy today!  The image is called Life of the Party and I water coloured him with Memento inks and a few pencils, seemed appropriate for the PBSC birthday celebrations.  The striped paper is new, bought on clearance at Michaels on Friday for 25c a sheet and the paper with the circles is old but never cut in to before so I guess that makes it neglected stash!  The flowers are from ColorBok and have been hiding at the bottom of the flower drawer pretty much since I started crafting and I added some brads to their centres.

I made the sentiment on the computer using a free font called Black Boys On Mopeds!  Obviously the job of naming fonts is a very serious occupation and one not to be taken lightly, lol!  The backing paper is actually Canson Artist paper for charcoal and has a lovely texture on it, not sure why we have it but it came in useful.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Kraft from JoAnn ~ Canson Artist paper from Michaels
  • DP: We R Memory Keepers  Rich Ribbon ~ Recollections My Clique
  • Stamp: Penny Black Life of the Party
  • Inks: Memento Pearlescent Olive, Moonlight White, Summer Sky, Aegean Sea, New Sprout, Rhubarb Stalk, Tangelo & Gingerbread
  • Embellies: Flowers from ColorBok ~ Making Memories Brads
  • Tools: Scalloped Nesties ~ Cuttlebug

*********************************************************

Challenges:

PBSC ~ Those Pesky Critters

PB @ Allsorts ~ Use Your Favourite PB stamp….. critters, that about as far as I can narrow it down too!  I do love the critters.

Simon Says Stamp ~ Bingo (I choose Flowers, Brads & Sentiment)

