A summer theme is the challenge at HM&F Monday Challenge blog for the next two weeks, so we’d like to see your summer type creations this time round.  What does summer mean to you?  Spending time at the beach?  Enjoying the summer flowers?  Going to the park with your family?  Your big summer holiday to look forward to?  All of these things are great summer activities so get your thinking caps on we’d love to see what you can come up with.

This is my card for my final GDT spot with HM&F but I’ll still be entering the challenges as often as I can as I just love my little meeces and all the fun they get up to.  My card today features a beachey theme and I created it for my BIL’s birthday at the end of June.  I love this little image of the mices trying to cool down under the shade of a flower, bet it’s hot when you’re wearing a fur coat in the summer time!

So where to begin…. I water coloured the image with Memento inks, decoupaged the flowers, added Stickles to the centers and covered them and the ice cubes with glossy accents before mounting onto blue and kraft card.  The card base is also kraft as I really like the neutral, sandy colour of it.  The little pennant is made with snips of DCWV winter themed paper and a bit of jute twine, held together with brads.  I used glossy accents to stick the pennants to the twine and to also stick down the twine on the left hand panel.  The striped paper is DCWV Linen Closet which I thought picked up the overall theme well, and I mounted it on to some blue DCWV card.

As you can see here I made a gatefold card.  The sentiment was generated on the computer using a free font called Black Boys On Mopeds!  Weird name I know but I like the whimsical nature of the lettering.  I cut it out with a Nesties die and mounted it on more of the blue card, having first sponged a bit of ink around the edges to soften it a bit.  The little seaside themed embellies have tiny holes in them and are designed to be threaded on to jewelers wire, I was given them ages ago on a trip back to England and had forgotten about them completely, I think they came from a card kit and were left overs.  The buttons are from my stash.

This is the inside with a strip of blue paper from the DCWV Winter stack, a Hero Arts sentiment and another button with a little bit of twine.

And that’s it from me.  I’ve had a brilliant time being a GDT for one of my most favourite challenges out there, thank you ladies for making me feel so welcome.  I’ll see you again for the next challenge, but as a participant rather than as part of the DT.

Hop on over to the HM&F blog to see all the fabulous entries from my Teemies, you’ve got two weeks to get your entries in and as usual, there are some wonderful prizes up for grabs.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Kraft from JoAnn ~ The Paper Company ~ DCWV Bazzil type card
  • DP: DCWV Linen Closet & The Winter Combo Matstack
  • Stamps: Stampabilities Beach Cooler ~ Hero Arts Sentiment
  • Inks: Memories Black Dye Ink ~ Memento Summer Sky, Bahama Blue, Night Sky, Rhubarb Stalk, Cottage Ivy, New Sprout, Tangelo, Gingerbread, Sahara Sand, Moonlight White & Crimson Copper
  • Embellies: Jute Twine from Michaels ~ Buttons from stash ~ Brads from Making Memories ~ Beach charms from UK card making kit ~ Fruit Punch Stickles ~ Glossy Accents
  • Tools: Scalloped Nesties ~ Cuttlebug ~ Scalloped Scissors ~ Computer & Printer

******************************************************************

Challenges:

Fuzzy Wuzzy Challenge ~ 3 DP’s, 2 buttons and the colour blue

Stamp Something ~ Use Pretty Papers

Stamptacular Sunday – Fun In The Sun

PaperPlay Challenges ~ At The Beach

