That’s the theme for this week over at Winter Wonderland, and when I was digging through the Christmas scraps the other day to try and use up some of the bits of Christmas themed paper I’d accumulated I came across two stamped and cut out Poinsettias from the end of last year that I had ended up not using at all and thrown in the box.  I knew one of my House Mouse images that I’d swapped with a friend was a sweet image of one of the mice sitting in a Poinsettia plant so I dug that out too, and this is the result:

The LO is based on the current sketch over at Sketch & Stash and all of the paper was from the scrap box and is from various DCWV Holiday Stacks.  The Poinsettia flowers are from a PaperMania Duo stamp set that I’ve had for over two year but this was the first time I’ve used it.  The cute little House Mouse stamp is called Joyous Noel Poinsettia and I water coloured it with a Marcy Uchida ink pen and a few pencils, it was cut out with a Nestie and sponged with a bit of DI Antique Linen whilst it was still in the frame.  I also rubbed a little bit of Xmas Red Stickles over the Poinsettia leaves but this isn’t really showing up, it’s really quite glittery in the flesh.  The greeting is a vellum sticker that was free on a UK card making magazine and it says “Santa’s Little Helper” which I thought was really sweet.  I’ve got quite a few stickers and rub-ons that I just never seem to use any more so I’ve decided to try and rectify that if I can.  I tend to use the computer a lot to make sentiments and greetings if I don’t have an appropriate stamp, and look no further than that often.  The red backing paper is more of the Canson Artist paper that I seem to have a ton of, and I used a few gold gems as embellishments and added some of the Xmas Red Stickles to the centre of the stamped Poinsettia’s.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Michaels card blank ~ Canson Kimono Red artist card
  • DP ~ DCWV Holiday Stacks
  • Stamps: House Mouse Joyous Noel Poinsettia ~ PaperMania Stamp Duo
  • Ink: DI Antique Linen
  • Embellies: Xmas Red Stickles ~ Gold gems from Michaels ~ Papermania Vellum sentiment ~ Marvy Uchida Ink Pen ~ Water Colour Pencils
  • Tools: Nesties Die ~ Cuttlebug

****************************************************************

Challenges:

Winter Wonderland ~ The Flowers of Christmas

Sketch & Stash ~ Sketch plus new or neglected stash (Paper scraps, Poinsettia stamp)

Jules Scraps Challenge ~ Use up your scraps

