Yup, running a bit late here, but it’s not for lack of trying!  I’ve got a couple of half completed cards for this challenge that just wouldn’t go to plan before I finally came up with this.  This one’s not perfect either but I rather like the technique and I think with a bit of practice and the right tools and stamps it could be really rather good and useful for any occasion too.

 

 

So, what did I do?  I started with a Nestie Labels Four and cut out a template the same size as the card blank, I then stuck this carefully over the card in a number of places.  Next I choose a couple of birthday sentiment stamps and three ink colours and proceeded to stamp randomly over the template.

A couple of things to change for next time would definitely be the template as I think it’s too fussy, something simpler would have been better as the label shape is completely lost, so perhaps on oval or a square for the next attempt.  Also the two stamps I choose are a little big, something smaller that can be stamped more might be better.  But apart from that I’m happy with the way it came out.  This could be a great way to make a few quick and simple cards, especially if you have a lot of Nesties dies, large punches or an electric die cutting machine to make interesting templates with.  I’m thinking a large pumpkin or leaf for an Autumn card or a bauble or Christmas tree or star for a Christmas card.  The possibilities are really endless!

 

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Michaels card blank.
  • Stamps: Hero Arts Birthday Wishes ~ Hampton Art Happy Birthday
  • Ink: Memento Brilliance Crimson Copper,  Pearlescent Olive & Pearlescent Ivy
  • Tools: Nesties Label Four ~ Cuttlebug

 

**********************************************************

Challenges:

Less Is More ~ Single layer using ink

