Gosh, I don’t know do I?  I missed one last week and as I’m easily confused I’ve lost the plot again!  It’s Wednesday, so it’s What’s On Your Workdesk time again courtesy of the lovely Julia.  Pop on over to find the start of the hop and see what it’s all about.

Although I wasn’t here last Wednesday, I did make sure I had a desk on that day and also that I got a snap of me working at it, via the husband of course who rolled his eyes at having to take an action shot because it was Wednesday!  But he did do it, so here I am busy colouring away at the camp table (love that apple tablecloth!) and getting mightily distracted by that stunning view across the lake every time I raised my head, I can tell you.

 

 

My real desk this week isn’t looking too hot as we only got back from our trip on Sunday and I had to get back in the groove for work again which has been hard, so no crafting has been going on yet.

 

I tidied it up a bit but that’s about it, I tried to get all those new inks in the pasta jar but they’re spilling over the top!  Surprise, surprise!  The unfinished PB card is still there along with the lace.  This is destined to by my sisters 50th birthday card in early October so I need to get it done!  There’s a tiny little pile of new stash right in the middle.  There’s only one craft shop in the area where we were camping that I know of so of course I had to pay a visit, but I really lucked out.  Generally this store is really expensive, except for their Stickles so I picked up three new ones, and then spotted a shelf with some Stickles marked down to $1.50 so got two of those, they can’t have been good sellers in a couple of colours.  Wandering over to the stamps I picked up another bargain, that beautiful wood mounted pear stamp you see, here’s a closer view:

As you can see, it’s as big as my hand and spells out lots of names of pears to make up the image, I thought it would be great for Fall/Autumn themed cards.  Any idea how much it was???

 

$2.00!  I know, I couldn’t believe it either, in fact, I got out of the shop with 5 Stickles and the stamp for just $12.  Quite amazing really, and I also heard the sigh of relief uttered by the husband too!

So, I’ll now bore you with a few holiday snaps!!  I love this place so much, Young State Park on Lake Charlevoix in NW Michigan.  The whole area is so beautiful, I’d really love to live the dream and have a house in this area, preferably right on the lake, but that would cost quite a few more pennies than I’ve got unfortunately.  So it’ll be the tent, the kayaks and the bikes for now!  But one day….

Early morning sunrise, drinking the first cuppa of the day whilst watching the heavy mist burn off over the lake, and yes, sweatshirts were required early and late as we averaged 44F (6C) overnight most nights.  It was still between 75F – 80F during the day though and beautifully sunny.

Andrew likes to cook at camp and decided to cook over the fire one night.  So he cooked up a marinated rack of lamb on a grate over the hot embers!  It had been marinated in red wine, ginger and Michigan dried cherries, not your average camp slop that’s for sure!

We also cooked up potatoes and some home grown veg that we’d taken with us, in foil packets, heavily seasoned with salt, pepper, dried herbs and garlic butter!  It was quite a yummy looking plateful but it didn’t last long!

And while we were sitting eating we’d be watching the spectacular sunsets too, I typically ate my dinner with a fork in one hand and the camera in the other!

And if you were wondering how I could pack away that big plateful of food, it was because we spent loads of time doing this:

The lake is 14 miles long and 2 miles wide, and has two “arms” to it and lots of bays and inlets.  With 56 miles of shoreline, that’s a lot of exploring to be done!  But don’t worry, there was always some time for relaxing too:

And last time I was here I had reported on two very nice blog wins that I’d had and Sue Kment had commented that I should run out and buy a lottery ticket.  I didn’t but I really should have as I discovered when I got back that I was picked for commenting on the official Penny Black blog and my prize is both a clear set and a cling stamp of my choice along with a supply of their own lovely mix and match cardstock!  Perhaps it’s not too late for that lottery ticket after all!!

Thanks for staying with me during this mega long post, hopefully I’ll be over to see you all soon.

