Tags

Hello peeps, back again with the second installment of my GDT with the lovely ladies of Humbug Hall.  Wow, didn’t you all enjoy last weeks challenge?!  I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many Humbug entries in one week!  How lovely to view some of you great cards and ideas, and sorry I didn’t get around to everyone.

For this week, Ann and Max have set us the challenge of Christmas Food or Recipes.  I’ve got two projects for you this week, one a House Mouse one (like you couldn’t guess!), and another, more traditional card too.  First up are the cute little meeces, no doubt getting into lots of mischief again:

I used a 6″x6″ sqaure card cut from a sheet of kraft and covered it in a beautiful sheet of 6×6 BoBunny paper from the Father Christmas pad.  The central horizontal strip was edged in kraft and is from the same pad; and the greeny vertical piece is from the Yuletide pack from my new favourite company, Memory Box.  I water coloured the image but I’m fast coming to the realisation that I really prefer to colour the HM mice with pencils as I can get so much more definition on their little bodies!  I used Distress Inks as my medium and Eucalyptus, Crystal, Cinnamon, Yellow and Gun Metal Stickles for accents.  The snowflake was cut from white glitter card with a Sizzix die before covering it with Bundled Sage and Victorian Velvet DI’s to age it, and edging it with Vintage Photo DI.  I really like how this came out.  A button and some twine finished it off.

The sentiment is from Hero Arts and was stamped with Versa Magic Aubergine ink and clear embossed.  The ribbon is from Michaels and I used a Bow Easy to make the three looped bow, and added a few little gold pearls too.  I didn’t want to add too many accents as I didn’t want to cover up the beautiful paper I’d used!  The LO I used is the current one from Sketch & Stash.  And my new stash are the BoBunny and Memory Box paper pads, and although I’ve had this House Mouse stamp for well over a year, this is the first time I’ve used it!

Card Recipe:

  • Card Stock: Kraft from JoAnn ~ TPC brown card ~ Glitter card from Michaels
  • DP: BoBunny Father Christmas ~ Memory Box Yuletide
  • Stamps: House Mouse Dear Santa: I Ate Your Cookies ~ Hero Arts Christmas Messages
  • Inks: DI Bundled Sage, Victorian Velvet, Vintage Photo, Peeled Paint, Antique Linen, Scattered Straw, Worn Lipstick, Stormy Sky ~ Stampology Citrine & Onyx ~ VersaMagic Aubergine
  • Embellies: Button from Rhonna Farrer ~ Twine, Ribbon and pearls from Michaels ~ Yellow, Eucalyptus, Gun Metal, Xmas Red, Cinnamon & Crystal Stickles
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Sizzix Snowflake Die ~ Clear EP ~ BowEasy

Challenges:

Sketch & Stash ~ Current sketch plus neglected stamp and new paper.

ABC Christmas – Unused stash (The stamp isn’t new but hasn’t been used before but the BoBunny & Memory Box papers are both new)

Sir Stampalot ~ Food, Glorious Food

Pretty Little Ribbons – Anything Goes

**************************************************************

My second project is much easier.  Back when I first started making cards, before I had any stamps or any clue what to do with them, I had bought some digital Christmas downloads from Mad About Cards, so when I received the challenge list I immediately thought of them and decided to dig them out.

I kept this card very simple, just the papers, a little embellishment and absolutely no stamping whatsoever!  All of the paper elements are from Mad About Cards Traditional Christmas download, these are very good value with at least 20 different papers and element sheets in each set for about $3 – $5.  I should really print them out more often, especially the backing sheets, so useful.  Anyway, I used a 6×4 card blank, covering it with the Christmas Pudding paper and edging it in a little DI Fired Brick.  The central puddings and the feature pudding recipe were both mounted into green card and a little Xmas Red Stickles added to the berries of the holly.  The holly embellishments are from Jolee and I added a little Eucalyptus Stickles to their leaves, and the sentiment is a Michaels Recollections dimensional sticker.

Card Recipe:

  • Card Stock: Black from Michaels ~ The Paper Company green card
  • DP: All DP and elements from Mad About Cards Traditional digital set
  • Ink: DI Fired Brick
  • Embellies: Holly pieces from Jolee ~ Sentiment sticker from Michaels ~ Xmas Red & Eucalyptus Stickles

So that’s me this week.  Hope you have fun coming up with your own food themed projects, and don’t forget to pop over to Humbug Hall to see the lovely work from Ann, Max and my fellow GDT, Kendra Sue!

