Catchy title huh?  Yes, I will be showing you a ceiling today, after the obligatory desk that is, and when you see it you’ll realise why I couldn’t keep it to myself!

But first up, as it’s Wednesday and all, it’s time for me to show you my desk and what I’ve been working on.  You’ll find plenty more desks (but I’m betting no more ceilings!) if you head over to Julias place, where you will find the start of the mid week international desk hop.  Better still, take a piccy of your workspace, blog it, link it up with Julia and join in the fun!

So this is what I’ve got going on at the moment.  The bug is working hard cutting out an amazing Memory Box die called Flowering Christmas Tree.  Isn’t it pretty?  I cut out about 20 in all, in different coloured card and also is silver mirri card which looks stunning.  Most of them are headed to England actually, for my Mam to have a play with, some of these have ended up on cards though that I’ll be showing you on Friday, so pop back ir you want to see what I did with them.  Behind the bug is a lovely Penny Black stamp that arrived in my mailbox last week!  My mam had picked it up at a craft show, brand new but really cheap, stamped a bunch of images for herself and then sent it to me!!  You can click the photo for a better look if you’re so inclined.

But what about this ceiling then?  Last Saturday Andrew and I headed to Grand Rapids, Michigan to spend a few hours wandering around The Frederik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park, which is actually listed as one of the Top 30 museums in the whole world!  I’ve already made two posts this week about this place, so look back at the earlier posts if you’d like to have a peek.  It really is well worth a visit if you ever find yourself in this neck of the woods.  We arrived there at about 9:30am, after a 1 1/2 hour drive and headed straight to the little cafe for a reviving mug of coffee, and as it turned out, a lovely slice of banana bread too!

And this incredible blown glass structure is what greeted us on the ceiling of the cafe.  Can you imagine trying to drink a mug of coffee with your face turned skyward?  Dale Chihuly is quite probably one of the most innovative, inspiring and talented glass blowers in the world today.  He’s exhibited all over the world, including the Victoria & Albert in London, met the Queen, designed pieces for The White House, The New York Botanical Gardens, the list just goes on.  He stages about 5 – 8 exhibitions  every year, a lot of them in world renowned gardens, and I’m not just talking about small pieces artistically arranged either.  Take a look at his web site, especially under Artist, Chronology, it’ll blow your mind!  Andrew and I would love to own a piece of his work, but at an average price of $3,000 for a Seaform bowl, I think that will have to wait until we hit the jackpot!  We were completely unprepared for what greeted us when we walked into that cafe, I know the whole Meijer gardens thing is the second most visited attraction in Michigan and is considered one of the best Sculpture parks in the USA if not the world.  But I really didn’t expect to see Dale Chihuly on the ceiling!!  Take a look at these photos and tell me what you think.  That’s really not bad work from a 70 year old who lost an eye in 1976 in a car accident is it???  What can you do with one eye??

So what do you think?  Impressive huh?  My favourite section is the blues and greens in the second photo, but to be honest I just love it all.  How amazing to have that on your ceiling!  I’d be walking around with a permanent crick in my neck I think!

