Yet again Wednesday has whizzed around at the speed of light and we find ourselves steeling up for the weekly Wednesday desk hop, organised as ever, by the inimitable and unflappable Julia!  Pop on over for all the details and to find the linky list of interesting people to visit.

No a lot going on this week, so a rather quiet desk from me, but at least it shows evidence of something other than Christmas, so you’ll be pleased to hear that!

However, bottom left evidence of Christmas has managed to sneak in!  But I had been making an Autumn inspired card, hence the leaves that are out, and the three inks clustered together are all Brilliance inks in Fall colours, and the papers too are rather Fall like.  The sketch was for the next challenge I was lining up to do, but I couldn’t resist stamping out my new Stampendous Joyeux Noel stamp, I hope to use this to make a vintage inspired Christmas card.  The two small tins hold pearls and gems.

We’ve had some beautiful weather here in the last week, cold and frosty in the mornings but sunny most days, unlike those Eastern states that got hammered with a very early season snowstorm that has left parts of Connecticut and Massachusetts with 27″ – 30″ of snow!  We went out for breakfast on Sunday morning and then on to some local woods for a long stroll, so I’ve got a couple of photos for you:

Frost on the Chrysanthemums and ornamental cabbages in downtown Northville.  But the sun was warming up and the woods were absolutely glorious, completely bathed in a golden yellow light.

Back on the home front I’ve been knitting again, definitely something to do with the cooler weather.  I came across this wool in England at the Broadwindsor Craft Centre in Dorset, there’s a brilliant wool shop there called Rumpelstiltskin, actually there’s quite a few brilliant shops and an even more brilliant coffee shop and restaurant!!  The brand is Rumba and it knits up into the most amazing scarves, I think the type is called ribbon wool and the scarves are known as ruffle scarves.

What you do is to pull the wool apart so it makes a mesh and then just knit into the very top edge, as each scarf is only 5 stitches it’s incredibly easy to do, the worst part is stopping every couple of minutes to pull the wool apart!  I’ve already knitted one in jewel tones, this one is obviously more Fall colours.  There’s a product in this country (USA) that’s quite similar by Red Heart called Sashay and I’ve got a couple of balls of that on order to try it out.  Everyone who has seen my jewel scarf so far wants one!  So I might make a few for Christmas gifts.  Which by the way, is closer than you think.  It’s already November for crying out loud!!

