There’s been a lot of time for Penny Black recently and I’ve had so much fun reacquainting myself with seldom used stamps and inking up the new ones I got for Christmas last year too.  For this card, I dug out an under used set called The Wonder and forced myself to pick a different stamp than the one or two I always seem to use from this set.  And as usual, I wondered why I always over looked this one?  Do you do that?  Use the same stamps from the same set all the time and ignore the others?   or is that just me, lol!

 

 

For the lovely LO I used the current sketch over at Sketch And Stash, and it’s such a great one, really simple to use.  The backing papers are my new Memory Box packs, the holly piece if from the Mistletoe pack and the green is from Yuletide.  I also used up some scraps of bazzil and some dark green The Paper Company scraps for the fern fronds.  I water coloured the image with Distress and Stampology inks, and after this photo was taken I added a little Stickles for snow, which I forgot to do earlier!  And talking of Stickles, I stamped the star again, covered it completely with Yellow Stickles and then covered that with Glossy Accents when it had dried.  The sentiment is Wild Rose Studios, from Pickle With Present, but it worked perfectly here too.  The glittered Poinsettia is from Prima and I used a glittered gold brad in the centre, my brads are very neglected these days, I used to use them all the time but now I have to make a conscious effort these days to remember that I even have any!  A few little gems from Michaels finish it off.

 

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Kraft from JoAnn (card blank) ~ Bazzil ~ The Paper Company
  • DP: Memory Box Mistletoe & Yuletide (Both new)
  • Stamps: Penny Black The Wonder clear set (Very neglected!) ~ Wild Rose Studios Pickle With Present (New)
  • Inks: Versafine Black ~ Distress Ink Antique Linen, Vintage Photo, Bundled Sage, Stormy Sky, Frayed Burlap & Victorian Velvet ~ Stampology Onyx
  • Embellies: Yellow Stickles ~ Glossy Accents ~ Gems from Michaels ~ Prima Flower ~ American Crafts Gold Brad ~ Black pencil
  • Tools: Martha Stewart border punch ~ McGill Fern punch

 

**********************************************************

Challenges:

Penny Black Saturday Challenge ~ Green With Trees

Sketch & Stash ~ Current sketch with new papers, new and neglected stamps and neglected brad

