I made a little time to have a play this morning.  I’ve been spending a little time clearing up my desk/room in the last day or two and have ended up making cards with the bits I’ve found on my desk.  Yesterdays was a House Mouse image that I’s stamped but never coloured in, and for today, I had a couple of pieces of kraft card, enough for some little scraplings, along with a quarter of a piece of white stamping card.  So I decided to use these bits up and not cut into anything new.

First up is a long thin card 4.5″ x 3″.  My intention when I was putting this together was to use the little poppy stamp as an edger, colour in all of the poppy heads and add the word Courage.  But after stamping I quickly spotted the two poppy heads that appear to be “kissing”, and so decided to go in an altogether different direction.

I water coloured the two heads with a red water colour pencil, added the Kanban sentiment in the best red ink I could find (note to self, you really need to get a good red ink!), and added a single red pearl.

For my second card I wanted to use my seriously neglected Stampendous Agapanthus stamp, but I also wanted to keep it simple too.  So after playing about with some brown inks I ended up stamping it in Versamagic Ginger Bread.  I then took a dark and a light pink pencil and randomly traced some of the petals on the two solid heads, leaving the more open head blank.  Next I used a dark pinky/purple Fiskars glitter pen and added a smattering of colour to some of the petal ends, the flower centres and also the centre of the open flower.

Here’s a close up of the flowers:

The sentiment is from a Penny Black cling stamp, Caroling Penguins, and as it’s a Christmas stamp, it really reads Joy To The World, but the words are quite well spaced out so I was able to ink up only the first word.  The ink is Memento Lilac Posies.  I added another single pearl to this one too.

Lots of fun ladies, and surprisingly challenging too!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Kraft from JoAnn ~ Bazzil Coconut White
  • Stamps: Hampton Art Poppy stamp ~ Stampendous Agapanthus Long ~ Kanban ~ Penny Black Caroling Penguins
  • Ink: Stampology Onyx ~ ColorBox Q Merlot ~ Versamagic Ginger Bread ~ Memento Lilac Posies
  • Embellies: Water colour pencils ~ Fiskars Glitter Pen ~ Pearls from Michaels

***********************************************************************

Challenges:

Winter Wonderland ~ Red & White (first card only)

Less Is More ~ Just One Word (both cards)

Simon Says Stamp ~ Anything Goes

