Happy New Year everyone!  I hope 2012 is a good one.

I said a few days ago that Debby at A Scrapjourney was going to be posting her favourite cards of 2011 and that I’d be joining her too, I also said I’d have to have a think about it, but I’m afraid I never did so you might have to bear with me as I try and whittle a years worth of cards down to just a few.  As usual, there’s two or three that really stand out for me so they’re easy to pick, but then trying to decide on the last few is the hardest part of all.  Let’s see how many I end up with shall we?   Debby is also offering some very generous candy to a lucky random participant if you showcase your favourite cards and link them up at her blog.

So here’s my choices:

This was the very first card of 2011, and I was in the mood to mess about a bit with a plain piece of paper, inks, stamps and embossing powder.  It was snowing, blowing a gale and freezing cold outside, but I still remember how warm and cosy I was inside and how much fun I had getting good and inky.

A sweet Penny Black card, no list would ever be complete without one!  I loved the colours on this one, the free digi sentiment and the lovely heart charm too, but my favourite thing about this is the little stamped hearts.  I stamped them again, covered them with a liberal dose of red Stickles and followed that up with a large amount of Glossy Accents, and then cut them out when they had dried.  You won’t believe how amazing those little hearts look in real life!

I still love Clean and Simple and love doing it.  This was such a simple, yet such a striking card, the sentiment was printed on the computer before stamping the Hero Arts stamp.  I also love the longer back side to the card and the use of ribbons on a masculine card.

A birthday card for one of my Nephews.  It used a digital Mo Manning image which I coloured with ordinary pencils.  Loved the fun image, the zingy colours and the large sentiment too.

A House Mouse card is my final choice, and for me, no list is complete without one of these either!  I was lucky enough to have a two week stint as a guest designer on a House Mouse Challenge blog in the summer, and this is one of the cards I did for them.  I loved the cute little image, with the Glossy Accented flowers and ice cubes and I especially loved the blue and brown colour scheme, but my favourite part of this card was in all the little details…. the pennant banner, the old button and twine, the brads and those fun little seashore charms.

Well, as it turned out, that actually wasn’t too difficult at all really.  I’ve also spotted a theme here, last year it was all about card similar to the first one, with grungy, home made backing paper, this year I fell in love with kraft card all over again.  I didn’t realise as I was picking these cards and writing up this post, but three out of the five feature kraft card, and I remember that quite a lot of my Christmas cards this year did too.  Wonder what my fad or favourite technique of 2012 will be!

