It wasn’t my intention to make a Christmas card, honest!  But I wanted to join in with the House Mouse & Friends challenge and they wanted to see a card for something new (New Year, New Baby etc), or made with new things and the only new House Mouse stamp I got for Christmas happened to be a Christmas one.  So after tidying up my desk last week, sorting out all the Christmas supplies and putting them away, I had to get them all out again!

So here’s my very first Christmas card of 2012 lol!

I used ordinary pencils and a blending stump to colour the image, which is called Christmas Tale, cut it out with a Nestie and mounted it on red card.  In order to get the mounts to match the image I use the same size Nestie I use for cutting and trace around the outside of it and then cut it out with a pair of scissors.  I sponged around the edges with DI Antique Linen and Frayed Burlap.  The sentiment is Stampendous, embossed in gold, and the yummy backing paper is from Memory Box.

I popped the sentiment panel up on foam dots for a bit of dimension, added some gold pearls and some read and gold ribbon.  Kept it simple but I really like it.  The stamping paper, the red mounting card and the red and gold ribbon all came form the scrap box, I was quite good in 2011 using up the bits and pieces instead of cutting into new all the time, I hope to persevere with that in 2012.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank free off a UK card magazine ~ Red Canson Artist card ~ Bazzil Coconut White
  • DP: Memory Box
  • Stamps: House Mouse Christmas Tale ~ Stampendous Family Season Cling
  • Ink: Memories Black Dye ~ DI Antique Linen & Frayed Burlap ~ Versamark
  • Embellies: Coloured pencils ~ Gold EP ~ Ribbon and gold pearls from Michaels
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Nesties Die ~ Heat Gun

********************************************************************

Challenges:

House Mouse & Friends Monday Challenge ~ Something New (New stamp)

Joanna Sheen Challenge ~ Celebrations (I know it’s early but Christmas is a celebration!!)

Pixie’s Crafty Snippets ~ Use Up Your Scraps

Crafty Calendar Challenge ~ New News (New Stash)

Simon Says Stamp ~ New Something (New Stash)

