I was in the mood to play this morning, and I mean really play.  No pretty paper in site, no pre made embellishments, just paper, inks and stamps, and a lot of mess!

I started out with a blank piece of paper, always a daunting prospect, but I had a couple of challenges already in mind so I at least had a theme in my head and an idea of a colour scheme to use so I set to.  My ink choices were Distress Inks Fired Brick, Victorian Velvet, Worn Lipstick and Festive Berries, along with Penny Black Stamps for the main images.

I covered my backing piece with Victorian Velvet and Festive Berries and edged it with Fired Brick.  I then stamped the flower head from the PB Illumination clear set in Worn Lipstick, using both first and second impressions and set it aside to dry.  The main image is PB Daisy Fields.  Initially I dabbed DI’s onto a large acrylic block, spritzed it with water and picked up the ink with the stamp, but I didn’t like the colour distribution so I put it to one side, but not one to waste things, I took some scrap white card and mopped up the remaining ink.  Instead I inked the stamp with the DI’s directly and spritzed with water before stamping on Penny Black pink cardstock, which was then distressed with Festive Berries and edged with the Fired Brick again, and mounted on to dark red card.

The LOVE letters were created by punching hearts from the white card that had previously mopped up the inks and stamping the letters from a Hampton Art alphabet set in Fired Brick.  The larger hearts are from a nested Provocraft die, cut from card that had been inked with a Stampabilities script stamp and clear embossed before distressing a little bit with the DI’s.  The final touches were a little bit of bakers twine and some Crystal Stickles on the flower centres.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~ Bazzil Coconut White ~ Penny Black Coral Reef Light ~ Canson Red Artists Card
  • Stamps: Penny Black Illumination Clear Set & Daisy Fields ~ Stampabilities Le London Script ~ Hampton Art Curlz Alphabet
  • Ink: Distress Ink Fired Brick, Worn Lipstick, Festive Berries & Victorian Velvet
  • Embellies: Crystal Stickles ~ Bakers Twine ~ Clear EP
  • Tools: Fiskars Heart Punch ~ Provocraft Heart Dies ~ Heat Gun ~ Cuttlebug

************************************************************************

Challenges:

Penny Black @ Allsorts ~ Love And Hearts

Sir Stampalot ~ Monochrome

Penny Black Saturday Challenge ~ Anything Goes

The Stampman Challenge ~ Use Red

