Morning folks, Monday again, and if you think I’m rather chipper for a Monday then you’d be correct, and the reason for that is that today is Martin Luther King Day here in America and the company I work for recognizes this amazing man by giving us the day off!  So I’ve had a very happy crafty weekend and today I’m off out to visit a friend.

My card for today is another Penny Black one, and once again I’m using my lovely new Memory Box papers I got for Christmas.  These two pieces are from the Studio pack, an old pack I found on Ebay for a ridiculous price (no one else was bidding on them!), in fact, I got four Memory Box paper packs for $15 including shipping costs!  The LO is based on the sketch over at Sketch Saturdays, a new blog to me, but I do love sketches, so I’ll be checking back in with this one every week from now on.

 

 

The image was water coloured with Distress Inks, cut out with fancy scissors, edged in DI Antique Linen and mounted on to a scrap of orange card.  The centre of the large flower has yellow stickles on it and when that dried I covered it with Glossy Accents.  The green strip running across the middle is a piece of Bazzil that I stamped two Heidi Grace border stamps on with Versamark ink.  The sentiment was generated on the computer and you’ll probably have to be from the North of England, or from Scotland perhaps, to understand it!  I’m originally from Durham and women are often called “flower” as a term of endearment from their men folk!  I just liked the play on words.  The little flower is a dingbats font and I put a little yellow stickles in the centre too.

 

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Kraft for the card blank ~ Green Bazzil ~ The Paper Company Orange
  • DP: Memory Box Studio
  • Stamps: Penny Black Greetings ~ Heidi Grace Borders
  • Ink: Versafine Black ~ Versamark ~ Distress Ink Fired Brick, Victorian Velvet, Antique Linen, Vintage Photo, Frayed Burlap, Spiced Marmalade, Crushed Olive, rusty Hinge & Scattered Straw ~ Stampology Onyx
  • Embellies: Yellow Stickles ~ Glossy Accents ~ Red water colour pencil
  • Tools: Provocraft Scissors ~ Fiskars Threading Water punch ~ EKSuccess Photo Corner punch ~ Computer

 

******************************************************************

Challenges:

Penny Black Saturday Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Sketch Saturday ~ Sketch

Simon Says Stamp ~ Spots and/or Stripes plus Memory Box products

