Yes it is, a monochromatic card with a difference.  Black and white and nothing else, although skin tones are allowed.  The lovely America from the House Mouse and Friends challenge blog came up with this, and I can tell you what a tricksy little challenge it was too.  Do you have ANY idea how many shades of black and grey there are??  Absolutely hundreds let me tell you!  I looked all through my paper stash and couldn’t come up with anything suitable to use, but then I hit upon the idea of printing digital paper in black and white instead, but obviously there are a lot of tone differences so I was surprised how grey it looked.

The backing piece was made with a Hero Arts Large Plaid stamp inked up with DI Black Soot, the edges were also distressed a little with the same ink.  The three smaller pieces of DP are from the very aptly named Java Joe set from Raspberry Road.  I water coloured the mug with the Black Soot ink and used pencils for the little mouse.  I really love this image, it looks to me like I think us humans must look like when we sink into a lovely hot bath and go aaahhhh….. hence the computer generated sentiment!  The coffee beans are from a Fiskars clear set and after colouring them with a black pencil, I then covered them in Glossy Accents.  there’s a bit of Black Diamond Stickles on the coffee steam, and some white and black pearls too.  The LO is from the current sketch at Sketch and Stash and my new or neglected stash is the brand new (for Christmas) Hero Arts Plaid stamp and although I’ve had this digital download for ages, it’s the first time I’ve printed it out and used it.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~ The Paper Company black and white card
  • DP: Raspberry Road Java Joe digital papers
  • Stamps: House Mouse Morning Kick Start ~ Fiskars Latte Love
  • Ink: Memories Black Dye Ink ~ Distress Ink Black Soot
  • Embellies: Black Diamond Stickles ~ Coloured pencils ~ Glossy Accents ~ Pearls from Michaels
  • Tools: Nesties Large Circles and Large Scalloped Circles ~ Cuttlebug ~ Computer – Foam pads

*************************************************************

Challenges:

House Mouse & Friends Monday Challenge ~ Black And White

Sketch & Stash ~ Current sketch plus new or neglected stash

Tuesday Throwdown ~ Neutral Colours

Crafty Cardmakers ~ No Floral Embellishments

