That’s the name of this lovely Penny Black stamp that I’ve had for a while now but hadn’t used before.  I’d decided that it might be a bit difficult to colour with my usual Distress Inks or pencils, I thought it wouldn’t be bright enough, so I’ve never considered using it.  But during a cleanup of my craft room at the weekend I came across not only this stamped and un-coloured image, but also my Marvy Brush Stroke markers that can be used to colour as is, or you can blend them with a water brush.  So I thought I’d see how I got on.

Not too terribly bad as it turns out.  The brush markers were easy and fun to use, there’s actually quite a bit of shading on the flowers IRL, especially the poppies, but the camera just isn’t picking up the differences very well, there’s also a little Black Diamond Stickles in the centre of the poppies too.  The papers are all from a free My Minds Eye paper pack from sometime last year, I was given them last September when I was last home, interestingly enough, they were all snippets that I used first!  I edged all the pieces and the stamped image with DI Milled Lavender, before mounting onto some old DCWV plum coloured card.  The image had a Fiskars heart punched out of the corner, and an additional heart was added to the sentiment.  The sentiment was also a freebie from that same trip, from a Woodland Friends little set that was with a card magazine, it was embossed in black, and it couldn’t have been more perfect!  The only other embellishments were some purple pearls and a little faux stitching.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~ Plum DCWV scraps
  • DP: MME Summer Papers (all scraps)
  • Stamps: Penny Black Bountiful ~ DoCrafts Woodland Friends
  • Ink: Black Stazon ~ Versamark ~ Distress Ink Milled Lavender
  • Embellies: Marvy Brush Strokes pens ~ Tsukineko Black Pen ~ Pearls from Michaels ~ EP from JoAnn ~ Stickles Black Diamond
  • Tools: Fiskars heart punch ~ Heat Gun

***********************************************************

Challenges:

Penny Black Saturday Challenge ~ Floral Frenzy

Allsorts ~ One Or More Hearts

Pixie’s Crafty Snippets ~ Use Up Your Scraps (Now technically the DP scraps aren’t mine on this card as I received them from my Mam!!)

One Stop Craft Challenge ~ Stitching, Real or Faux

Simon Says Stamp ~ Anything Goes

Crafty Calender Challenge ~ New News (New colouring method, new to me DP and first use of stamp)

