It’s a colour challenge this week on Less Is More as Mandi and Chrissie celebrate the first birthday of their brilliant Clean And Simple challenge blog.  I remember a year ago thinking this is going to be great as I love CAS but I know it’s not every one’s cup of tea, especially if it’s a one layer week, but I think the popularity of Less Is More caught even Mandi and Chrissie out!  And so many crafters stepped outside of their creative comfort zone, tried something new and mastered it with aplomb.  I look forward to many more Less Is More challenges.  Thank you ladies.

So, back to this weeks challenge, which is to use the colour aqua.  Now I love aqua, I really do…… but!!!  I always think it needs the tiniest smidgen of red to make it pop!  So here’s my 98% aqua card!!

 

 

Ooh, and I forgot about the tiny bit of dark blue too!!  Ahem, well, the aqua can be found in the card base, the ink and the lovely ribbon, so let’s start from the top.  The image is Hero Arts Flower Medley, inked up in Versamagic Chalk Ink Sea Breeze, stamped on to white Bristol Board card and cut out leaving a small white margin.  This was mounted on to an off cut of blue card and an off cut of red card, it’s the red that I always think anything in aqua needs, in my opinion.  The ribbon is organza from JoAnn and is aptly named Robin’s Egg Blue.  A few little pale blue gems finishes it off.  I didn’t go with a sentiment, can’t decide if it even needs one to be truthful, what do you think?

 

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Bristol Board scrap ~ The Paper Company scraps ~ Card blank free with a UK card magazine
  • Stamp: Hero Arts Flower Medley
  • Ink: Versamagic Sea Breeze
  • Embellies: Organza ribbon from JoAnn ~ Gems from Michaels

**************************************************************

Challenges:

Less Is More ~ Aqua

Pixie’s Crafty Snippet Challenge ~ Use Up Your Scraps

Allsorts ~ Free and Easy

 

