We have a very good friend turning sixty next week and we’re going to a little party for him tomorrow at his house, he thinks it’s family only and is really happy that his son and his three beautiful grand daughters turned up from Montana to surprise him,  a 1600 mile drive, he doesn’t know that there is quite a little gathering going on at his house tomorrow (Sunday).

Of course, I’ve known about this for ages, we even went out this morning to get some bits for the appetizers we’re taking along, so there was I this afternoon, bum planted on sofa quite happily knitting my second pair of socks, when Andrew asked if I’d made Graham’s card yet!  Panic or what!  I’ve got a great photo for WOYWW next Wednesday of what my desk looked like when I finished!!

But here’s what I did for him, Two Toby by Mo Manning:

I love Two Toby, such fun to colour, and such a fun take on a male milestone birthday too.  I used this same image 2 years ago for my brothers 50th birthday, and with the same sentiment too, although I made a bigger card then and got the whole sentiment and punch line on the front of the card…. this time round I put the punch line on the inside…

So if you put all that together you get a two year old having a hell of a tantrum screaming  “Waaa!  But I don’t wanna be sixty!!”  Excuse the punch btw, creeping in the bottom right corner, I couldn’t get the card to stand up for the photo when I turned it inside!

I coloured the image with regular pencils and a paper stump, all the paper and kraft card came from the scrap box. The stars are a Rhonna Farrer clear stamp that I’ve had for four years and never used before!  The button, stash and bakers twine came from my stash, pearls from Michaels and the image sentiment is from a rub-on set, the inside sentiment was computer generated.  The LO is based on the current sketch at Sketch & Stash.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~ The Paper Company
  • DP: Large backing piece is a free digi download from Summer Driggs ~ Brown piece is from Prima
  • Stamps: Mo Manning Two Toby digi image ~ Rhonna Farrer Stars ~ Hampton Art Border Squiggle
  • Ink: Versamagic Chalk Ink in Sahara Sand & Night Sky ~ Distress Ink Vintage Photo
  • Embellies: Coloured pencils ~ Ribbon, button & Pearls from Michaels ~ Bakers Twine from stash ~ American Crafts Rub-Ons
  • Tools: Fiskars border punch Threading Water ~ Blending Stumps ~ Computer

*************************************************************

Challenges:

Pixie’s Crafty Snippets Challenge ~ Use Up Your Scraps (I took a break from sock knitting to join in with Di!!)

Sketch & Stash ~ Latest LO plus neglected paper scraps and Rhonna Farrer stamp

Do You Stack Up ~ Layers

Delightful Challenges ~ Use Up Your Scraps

Allsorts ~ Free And Easy February

