Another record breaking day here in Michigan yesterday at 75F, so the perfect antidote to the sudden, and incredibly early, warmth was to make a Christmas card!  This was after working in the garden for a couple of hours and before sitting on the sun lounger in a bikini for another hour!  I now have a red face, not to mention that I’m doing a good impression of a couple of Robins too…… I’ll leave you to work that one out!

So, on to my card.  As it was also St Patrick’s Day when I made this I decided to use up some green snippets from the Christmas snippet box, I also pulled out the super sweet little Fairy from Elzybells stuck on the tree, I decided that if she fell off the top of the tree then perhaps she’s had one too many toddys and therefore must be an Irish Fairy!!

No offense to anyone of Irish descent!  I water coloured the image with Marvy Markers and a couple of Fiskars glitter pens.  The tiny little stars are actually peel offs, and come from the only pack of peel offs that I own, you just can’t buy them (I think) in America, I only ever really see them being used in Europe.  The image was edged with DI Aged Mahogany and matted on green DCWV card.  The large baking paper is also DCWV, the lovely holly piece is from The Paper Company and the green dotty bit is Papermania.  The ribbon was free in a pack on a UK card magazine.  The snowflake is Sizzix, cut out of white glitter card from Michaels and dabbed over with DI Bundled Sage.  Sentiment is from a clear Recollections set and I mounted it on a cut down Nestie with a few more of the peel offs.

This close up shows off the glitter pens and also the little stars better.  The stars have clear centres so they reflect the colour of the branch beneath.  I might do a bit more to her hair as I don’t think the colour is quite right.  The LO is  based on the current sketch at Christmas Challenges {With Sketches}.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: The Paper Company ~ DCWV ~ Recollections
  • DP: DCWV ~ Papermania ~ The Paper Company
  • Stamps: Elzybells Christmas Fairy ~ Recollections Merry Merry clear set
  • Ink: Versafine Black ~ ColorBoxQ Merlot ~ Distress Ink Bundled Sage & Aged Mahogany
  • Embellies: The Paper Mill Peel Offs ~ Button and twine from stash ~ Gems from Michaels ~ Ribbon free with UK Card magazine ~ Fiskars Glitter Pens
  • Tools: Marvy LePlume water colour markers ~ Nesties Label Two ~ Cuttlebug ~ Sizzix Snowflake Die

***************************************************

Challenges:

Winter Wonderland ~ Angels or Fairies

ABC Christmas Challenge ~ Evergreen

Pixies Crafty Snippets Challenge ~ Use Up Your Scraps

Sparkles Christmas Challenge ~ Use Peel Offs

Simon Says Stamp ~ A Bit O Green (Bet you didn’t expect a Christmas card!)

Christmas Challenges {With Sketches} ~ Current LO

Do You Stack Up? ~ Favourite Colour (that would be green!)

