That’s the theme at Penny Black Saturday Challenge this week, so I decided to recycle a couple of Christmas cards that I have hanging around.  And making a Christmas card yesterday (Sunday) was a really good antidote to the 86F temperature we had!  A beautiful day, don’t get me wrong, but I was plain tuckered out by about 4pm and had to retreat indoors, and thought a Christmas card might make me feel cold, even if I wasn’t.

So these are the cards I wanted to use:

And this is how my card turned out:

The LO is based on the current sketch at Sketch Saturday, really like this one.  The stamp is Penny Black Reverie and it’s brand new this week so this is it’s first outing.   I stamped it in Versamark on the glossy card stock cut from the back of the Snowflakes card and embossed in gold and edged in DI Festive Berries before mounting on to red card.  The sentiment is See-D’s Whimsy Trees stamped in Versamagic Red Magic, also edged in Festive Berries and matted with the same red card.  The two DP’s are DCWV from one of their large Christmas stacks, and the white is The Paper Company and it was dry embossed with the Swiss Dots folder in the Cuttlebug.  The recycled elements are the punched red strip and the three shiny embossed snowflakes that I fussy cut from one of the cards.  And because it was so hot it took me as long to cut those three out carefully with my sweaty little mitts as it did to do the rest of the card!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Michaels card blank ~ The Paper Company (scraps)
  • DP: DCWV (scraps) ~ Recycled Christmas card
  • Stamps: PB Reverie ~ See D’s Whimsy Trees
  • Ink: Versamark ~ Versamagic Red Magic ~ Distress Ink Festive Berries
  • Embellies: Embossed Snowflakes recycled from a Christmas card ~ Gold EP from JoAnn’s ~ Swiss Dots Embossing Folder
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ EKSuccess border punch

**************************************************

Challenges:

PBSC ~ Recycling

Winter Wonderland ~ Embossing

Sketch Saturday ~ Current LO

Pixie’s Crafty Snippets Challenge ~ Use Up Your Scraps

