Seeing as this photo made everyone’s mouth water on WOYWW this week I thought I’d give you the recipe.

I got it off the internet, where I think everything comes from these days!  But it was only when I went to look for it again to post here that I realised it’s from an Australian site, and that got me thinking that some of the conversions I did might not be correct.  But more on that later, here’s the recipe:

INGREDIENTS

1 Whole orange, skin and all ( I used a really large Navel orange, you might want to use two oranges if they’re not very big)
180g melted butter
3 eggs
1 cup caster/fine sugar (abt 6oz – 8oz depending on your taste)
1 1/2 cups Self Raising flour or Plain flour with 2 tsp of baking powder sifted in (abt 12oz)

OPTIONAL ICING

2 cups icing sugar/powdered sugar
2 tablespoons melted butter
juice and zest of an orange

METHOD

Preheat your oven to 180C/350F.
Grease your cake tin – I used a bundt tin, but most recipes I’ve seen use a standard 2lb loaf tin
Wash the orange thoroughly – this is particularly important if the orange is not organic
Put the whole washed orange into the food processor and process it until it’s completely broken down and no large pieces remain.  Add the rest of the ingredients and process again until everything is mixed together, about 30 seconds.
Scrape the batter into the cake tin and cook for around 40 minutes.

If using the icing, mix everything together and drizzle over the cake when it’s cooled.  I didn’t do this and one reviewer on the site where I got the recipe from said it was enough icing for two cakes!  I did think about mixing a little icing sugar and orange juice together, stabbing the cake all over and pouring it on while it was still warm so it soaks all the syrup up.

I also added about 2oz, basically a smallish bar, of good quality, finely chopped dark chocolate which lifted this cake from really nice to absolutely bloody amazing!!

Simple, and really easy to do.  I would suggest cutting your orange into quarters as this makes it much easier to process.  If you use the bundt tin then cut the cooking time down to about 30 mins or so, otherwise it will be overcooked.

************************************

Here’s my dilemma with the conversion of cups to ounces.  In America a dry cup of something heavy like flour or sugar weighs 8oz or half a pound.  I still have my English scales and I’ve weighed a cup of each so I know this to be true, therefore 1 1/2 cups of flour with be 12oz and a cup of sugar will be 8oz, so this is what I used and I didn’t have a problem with this ratio.  However, this recipe is from Australia and I know from Australian friends that their cup is 4oz, half the American cup size.  So it got me wondering whether the conversion should be 6oz of flour and 4oz of sugar!  I would think that given the amount or orange puree and butter in this cake that 6oz of flour just isn’t going to be enough.  I think next time I make this (and there will be a next time as Andrew went out and bought a bag of oranges this week!), I might add 6oz of flour and see what it looks like, I can always add the other 6oz if I think it needs it.

Let me know if you try it, I have other idea bouncing around my head, like a whole lemon cake, or how about lime and dark chocolate! Think I need to investigate this more thoroughly!

