Finally!  Here’s a little card.  It’s been a very busy few weeks in my neck of the woods and I’ve been away from home for the last four weekends in a row, and three of them were camping weekends.   My house is looking like a bomb has gone off, the laundry pile would engulf a small country and my garden is out of control!  So what was top of my priorities list yesterday when I returned from work?  Yes, I went into my craft room and finished a card that had been sitting on my desk for almost a week!

It’s a little plain as I’m a little burnt out quite frankly!  There’s not a single embellishment in sight!  House Mouse and Friends Monday Challenge are looking for Liquid Refreshments For Hot Summer Days, and we all know that cold drinks actually warm you up as your body has to work hard to bring the icy liquid up to body temperature once you’ve drunk them…. whereas hot drinks are already at body temperature when you drink them, so you feel cooler and more refreshed.  We always have hot tea on a hot summer afternoon without fail, so this little mouse and his cup of Rosy Lea caught my eye.  Rosy Lea is tea in Cockney Rhyming Slang btw, for those on this side of the pond!

 

 

I stamped the image on to Bazzil water colour card, and immediately remembered why I’d pushed it to the back of the pile and wasn’t using it, it’s absolutely rubbish!  There’s no other way to describe it, the paper buckles and stretches at the merest sight of water.  In order to get enough glue on it to stick to the backing I had to run the completed image through the Zyron as I needed to get complete coverage.  Anyway, I coloured the tea cup with Marvy Markers and the little mouse with Distress inks.  All the papers are Memory Box, the smaller pieces are from a new pack called Viola and they were all edged with DI Milled Lavender.  The sentiment is from an old TPC Studio set that I haven’t used in a while and it says “I don’t have a problem with caffeine, I have a problem without caffeine!”  I think we can probably all relate to that, lol!  The blue backing pieces are Bazzil.

 

Sketch and Stash have a free choice fortnight, so I chose sketch Number 64 for my LO:

 

 

Card Recipe:

  • Card: TPC Kraft ~ Bazzil
  • DP: Memory Box Viola & Echo
  • Stamps: House Mouse Feeling Rosy ~ TPC Studio Coffee Cafe
  • Inks: Versafine Black ~ DI Milled Lavender, Antique Linen & Vintage Photo
  • Embellies: Marvy Uchida Watercolour Markers

*******************************************************

Challenges:

HM&FMC ~ Liquid Refreshments For Hot Summer Days

Sketch & Stash ~ Free Choice Sketch plus new HM stamp and Memory Box paper

