We had yesterday off work for American Independence day so us Brits living abroad made the most of the day and went off to the park nice and early for a spot of kayaking.  It was 78F at 8am and very humid, we topped out at 99F but with the humidity it felt like 105F.  It was too hot to be outside I know that much, so inspired I decided to make a patriotic themed card, about time really, I’ve only been in this country for 18 years and this is my very first patriotic card!

I used a fantastic sketch that I thought worked really well with what I was trying to do but when I went looking for it this morning to link up I discovered I’d gotten it from a Christmas Challenge blog and not a regular one, so I should have been making a Christmas card with it!  I blame the heat, I really do!!

Everything you see here was out of the scrap box, with the exception of the patriotic paper, that was a free digi download from Raspberry Road.  The stamp is a flower head from the Penny Black Illumination clear set, I stamped and embossed it a number of times to make it look like fireworks using JoAnn Metallic EP (red and blue) Ranger Holographic EP (white) and Stampendous Sterling Silver EP.

The sentiment is from a clear Inkadinkado set and I also embossed it with the blue JoAnn EP.  Both it and the image panel were edged with Versamagic Night Sky.  The little star gems are metal and are from a Michigan based company called Colorbok.  I popped the firework image panel up on foam dots for a little relief.

Now I just need to go and make a Christmas card with the same sketch!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~ The Paper Company
  • DP: Digi image from Raspberry Road
  • Stamps: Penny Black Illumination ~ Inkadinkado Birthday Cupcake
  • Ink: Versamark ~ Versamagic Night Sky
  • Embellies: ColorBok Metal Stars ~ JoAnn Metallic Range EP ~ Ranger Holographic EP ~ Stampendous Sterling Silver EP
  • Tools: Heat Gun

**************************************************

Challenges:

Penny Black Saturday Challenge ~ Hot Metal (EP and metal stars)

Pixie’s Crafty Snippets Challenge ~ Use Up Your Scraps (All scraps apart from the DP)

Crafting For All Seasons ~ Patriotic/Military/Fireworks

