That’s what those nice peeps at Sir Stampalot want to know this month.  What do you love to do the most, or what are your favourite things and then incorporate them into a card.  I’ve had a good think about this and you’re going to be very, very surprised to find that as much as I love Christmas and making Christmas cards, I haven’t plumped for a Christmas project.  This is my list:

Penny Black Stamps

Kraft Card

Digi papers – free ones at that, I collect a lot of free digi papers and really enjoy using them

Basic Stamping – I used to do nothing but stamp images that required no colouring but I don’t do it so frequently now and I don’t know why as I really love it and there are lots of techniques you can use like embossing or stamping on water colour paper!

My corner rounder punch.

Natural elements, like the wooden button, lace and twine

I also thought about my favourite time of year too, and it’s not Christmas, it’s actually autumn, so I decided to make an Autumn themed card.

It’s a very simple card and uses a Penny Black stamp called Letters & Flowers (thanks Di for looking it up for me!!), stamped in Brilliance Crimson Copper on to DCWV Beige card, I added a little Stickles in Fired Brick and distressed around the edges with Brilliance Coffee Bean ink.  It was matted on to another piece of DCWV card.  That lovely paper is free from 2Peas and is called Eloquent Autumn by Betsy Tuma, I almost used an orangey piece from the pack but I really liked the blue with the other colours and I’m glad I used it.  I used an EKSucces punch on some more of the DCWV card and wrapped some beige crochet lace around it.

It’s a little bit bulky so the border sits up a bit off the card.  The wooden button came from the dollar bin at Michaels last year, I got a couple of packets in mixed colours but I really wish I’d bought more of them!  I haven’t put a sentiment on yet as I haven’t decided what I’m going to use the card for, but when I do, I”l probably use my tag punch and slip it under the button.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: The Paper Company Kraft ~ DCWV
  • DP: Eloquent Autumn freebie from Betsy Tuma @ 2Peas
  • Stamp: Penny Black Letters & Flowers
  • Ink: Brilliance Crimson Copper & Coffee Bean
  • Embellies: Lave from JoAnn ~ Button & Twine from Michaels ~ Fired Brick Distress Stickles
  • Tools: Fiskars Corner ROunder Punch ~ EKSuccess Border Punch

*********************************************************

Challenges:

Sir Stampalot ~ Craft Your Passion

Allsorts ~ Distressing

