In quite literally, by the skin of my teeth here for this month’s Rudolph Day Challenge over at Sarn’s.  I managed to colour this image last week before I went away for a few days, along with preparing the embossed mount and picking the DP for the card, had I not done all of that I wouldn’t be here with a card now!

I used a new to me cling stamp from Stampendous called Angel Kisses, both the image and the sentiment are in the little set.  I had always wanted to use the brayering of ink onto an embossing folder technique but I don’t have a brayer, so I decided to see if swiping a soft fluid chalk ink over a folder might work, and I’m happy to report that it did.

I couldn’t stop the ink from getting into the centre, plain part of the folder so once it was dry I cut that bit out with a scalpel and then trimmed it up with some fine pointed scissors.  I put a sheet of DCWV DP behind it and stuck it on to the card front.  I water coloured the image with Marvy Markers.  Their wings were coloured with a white gel pen before adding a copious amount of glitter.  The snow is white fun flock with glitter added on top and I edged the Nesties frame with a glue pen and more of the fine glitter.

The image was popped up with foam pads.  I punched two snowflakes from turquoise and white card and added a single blue gem in the middle.   Although cutting out the frame was really time consuming, I really like how it came out and the effect it gives to the card.  And I just love that cute little stamp too!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Kraft from The Paper Company ~ Bazzil Robin’s Egg
  • DP: DCWV 2011 Winter Stack
  • Stamp: Stampendous Angel Kisses
  • Ink: Memories Black Dye Ink ~ Martha Stewart Ocean Chalk Ink
  • Embellies: Martha Stewart Flock & Fine Glitter ~ Cuttlebug Embossing Folder ~ Gem from Michaels
  • Tools: Martha Stewart & Marvy Uchida Snowflake Punches

**************************************************

Challenges:

Rudolph Day @ Sarn’s ~ Make A Christmas Card

Winter Wonderland ~ Elves (Not sure if these two count as Elves but one of the DT used a Tilda! Ignore, ladies, if it’s not acceptable)

