Did anyone catch the Rolling Stones 50th Anniversary concert on Saturday night?  We were at our friends house for a little Christmas get together and they had it all set up for us, it was their Christmas present to us all as it was on pay per view.  They provided two main courses, we provided desert and our other friends provided the appetizer, and well fed and in a jovial mood we all sat down in the basement to watch the show on the big screen tv while the kids entertained themselves upstairs.

I would never have described myself as a Stones fan, I like some of their tracks, but I’ve never bought a cd  of theirs, but what a fantastic show.  The old rockers still have it and they never missed a beat, Jagger was strutting about like a teenager and his voice is fantastic.  When I think of how terrible Paul McCartney sounded at the opening of the Olympic Games and compare him to Mick Jagger on Saturday night, it was like chalk and cheese to be honest, there is no comparison.  The Stones sound as fresh and tight as they ever have, and all their tracks were brilliantly performed.  It was a fantastic show and one I’m really glad I saw.  My night was just about perfect when they played Paint It Black, but towards then end we were all discussing what else we wanted them to play and I said I wanted to hear You Can’t Always Get What You Want, to which our friend Paul said they wouldn’t play that as they need a full choir…… next track up was You Can’t Always Get What You Want with a full choir!!  I went home happy.

It was a late night, gone 1:30am when I finally crawled beneath the sheets, so Sunday wasn’t an energetic day to say the least.  I wrapped up Andrew’s presents, made some mince pies in the afternoon, and popped upstairs to the craft room to make a birthday card for my nephew.  You might say I was still in a rock star mood!

The stamps are my much underused Inkadinkado set called Rock Star, it’s so underused that Andrew accused me of buying more stamps and sneaking them into the house, lol!!  The ink is all Memento Chalk Ink, the scrap of DP is a Recollections piece and the contrasting card is by The Paper Studio, as is the white stamping card on the front and the inside.  And everything was from the snippets drawer, with the exception of the base card.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: The Paper Company Kraft, Blue & White
  • DP: Recollections Grandma’s Kitchen
  • Stamp: Inkadinkado Rock Star
  • Ink: Memento Chalk Ink Jumbo Java & Ocean Green

***********************************************************

Challenges:

Penny Black And More @ Allsorts – It’s Your Choice

Pixies Crafty Snippets ~ Use Up Your Scraps

