Hello Lovely LIM Ladies!!  Waving frantically from my little corner of Michigan, gosh it’s been a long time and I’ve missed you all!  Seems like such an age since I last joined in.

I had a lot of fun making this little one layer card this afternoon.  The theme was Exercise and I racked my brains to see what I could possibly do, so I looked through my cute little PB’s, there had to be something those little meeces were up to that would work!  I’m still in Christmas card making mode too, although I don’t know why, it’s been far too warm here for the time of year and all of our lovely snow has melted.  In fact, it’s rained for the best part of two days now.

Anyway, I really liked this little image of the mouse swinging on the bells, it reminded me of a tyre swing over a pond we used to mess about on as kids, and I remembered how much exercise we got trying to hang on too!!  Invariably I was the one who got dunked and shivered my way home soaking wet and looking like a drowned rat!  It’s amazing how much strength you need to hold your own body weight.  These days I try and do yoga a few times a week and there’s the odd occasion when I collapse on the floor in a heap cause my arms can’t hold me any more!

I’m still playing with my Prisma’s, definitely prefer the mineral oil to the odorless mineral spirits too.  I put a little bit of grey shading around the image for the first time which I like, wasn’t quite brave enough to go with yellow or blue to really make it pop!  The bells are a metallic gold but I have to admit that even IRL they look a bit of an insipid brown colour!

And to prove it’s really just a single layer…

There’s the tiniest bit of red stickles on the holly berries and a little yellow on the bell hammers but absolutely nothing else.  The sentiment is from a Fiskars set, stamped in Versamagic Red Magic ink.

I have an idea now to look through my PB clear sets and stamp up all the little images that never get used on to small cards and make some cute little cards with them, either Christmas or otherwise.  If nothing else I’ll get a lot more practice with my colouring!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels cut to 4″ square
  • Stamps: Penny Black Jolly Follies Clear Set ~ Fiskars Season’s Greetings Set
  • Ink: Memento Midnight Black ~ Versamagic Red Magic
  • Embellies/Tools: Prisma Pencils ~ Mineral Oil ~ Stickles Xmas Red & Yellow

**********************************************************

Challenges:

Simply Less Is More ~ Single Layer w/Exercise (Not your standard form of exercise I know, but maybe it is to a mouse!)

Crafty Hazelnut’s Christmas Challenge ~ Rudolph Is Resting (Don’t use a reindeer)

Crafty Hazelnut’s Extra Christmas Challenge ~ Anything Goes

ABC Christmas Challenge ~ A for Animal

Christmas Cards All Year Round ~ Anything Goes

