Well that was a speedy week, helped along considerably for me by having Monday off work for Martin Luther King Day, so bear with me if I’m a bit discombobulated for a few days. Having Monday off work, thinking Tuesday was Monday and Wednesday was Tuesday etc. That and dealing with the mind numbing cold that Canada decided to throw at us Sunday night and for the next few days after that. Tuesday morning when I left for work it was -19C (1F) and it had warmed up a bit from its overnight low. It’s not so bad today, a high of -6C, considerably warmer than Tuesday at least where we had a high of -14C but with wind chill it felt like -24C. Brass monkies indeed.

Hopefully everyone in the UK is safe and warm and doesn’t have to deal with the snow, and I hope everyone in Australia isn’t melting in the heat. What a topsy turvy world it is!

So, moving swiftly on, here’s the desk this week. If you’d like to join in with our worldwide weekly deskhop head on over to Julias for the start of the list and all the details.

Not loads going on, this was on Monday afternoon, so a daylight shot at least. I went out to Michael’s on Monday morning and picked up some more knitting needles as every pattern I looked for called for a needle size that I didn’t have. When I was there I had a quick look in their clearance section and got a Martha Stewart border punch and a set of Memento dye inks both for $4.99 each, and I also used a coupon on a full size black dye inkpad as mine has dried up! There’s a finished card there, behind that is a lovely wood mounted stamp I received from a friend, over to the right is an old Christmas box I was about to cut up and use on a card, and over to the far right are some unmounted stamps I mounted on to cling foam and also a die I used that needed the pink bits of paper removed from it! And just sneaking in bottom left are my Prisma pencils and assorted accoutrements that I need for colouring, I’d been colouring downstairs again close to the fire!

Last week April asked to see what I was colouring with my Prisma pencils…. if you click on my blog banner so you get my home page you can scroll down and look at the cards I’ve been posting, everything so far this year, has been coloured with the Prisma’s.

I also said last week that I wanted to try to make some patterned socks, that’s one of the reasons I needed a different sized needle as I had a pattern in mind that I wanted to try and it used a larger sized needle than I had available, here’s the progress so far, although I did get some more time to work on it after this photo was taken.

After the K1P1 ribbing its a very simple two row pattern of K1P1 for the first row and then K3P3 for the next row, repeating until the sock is the desired length, it’s looking very nice so far.  But I also have a hat on the go for Andrew, and with these really low temperatures I should get a shimmy on and finish that for him!

