Hello All – I have another Christmas card to share with you all today, may as well keep making them as long as the weather is cold and it’s Wintry outside!  Sarn is also kicking off this years Rudolph Day challenges on the 25th of each month so I made this in readiness to join in with her.  I’m also joining in with the Kraftin’ Kimmie Challenge Blog, big step for me that is!  Looking forward to joining in a few more with them too.  Full list is at the end as usual.

I worked quite a bit on the shading, especially her dress and her hair, but the bright lights of the photo booth tend to render everything the same monotone shade!  I had based the card on a sketch from Christmas Challenges {With Sketches} but it closed on Tuesday and I wasn’t ready to post!  I also worked in the current theme at Crafty Hazelnut’s Christmas Challenge which was to recycle something or use something that was free.  I cut up a candy striped gift box from Christmas for the backing of the image and the sentiment, it was on my desk on my What’s On Your Workdesk Wednesday post and it’s at the end of this post too!!

So, I went with a red and silver/grey theme.  The papers are all DCWV from old Christmas Stacks and they’re all snippets too.  The image was coloured with Prisma pencils and cut out with Nesties and was then mounted on part of the old gift box which had also been cut out with Nesties.  The snowflakes are from an MS punch and they were in the embellishment tin, I keep all the bits from border punches and extra bits and pieces, they get used up eventually!  I did dab a bit of DI Festive Berries around them and all the paper was edged with it too.  The sentiment is Hero Arts, stamped in Versamagic Red Magic and mounted on more of the gift box.  Here’s the gift box after I took it apart!  It’s very shiney in real life, I think it might be foiled.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~ Recycled Gift Box
  • DP: DCWV Christmas Stacks
  • Stamps: Kraftin Kimmie Virginia ~ Hero Arts wood sentiment set
  • Ink: Memento Black Dye Ink ~ Versamagic Red Magic ~ Distress Ink Festive Berries
  • Embellies: Prisma Pencils ~ Silver pearls from Recollections
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Nesties Ovals & Lacy Ovals ~ Martha Stewart Punch

*********************************************

Challenges:

Kraftin Kimmie ~ A Trio of Embellishments (Three snowflakes, three silver pearls)

Rudolph Day ~ Make A Christmas Card

Pixies Crafty Workshop ~ Use Up Your Scraps

Crafty Hazelnut’s Christmas Challenge ~ Recycle Something or Use A Freebie

Crafty Hazelnut’s Extra Christmas Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Christmas Cards All Year Round ~ Anything Goes

