Due to the cold, cold weather at the weekend I managed to get quite a lot of crafting done for posts this week.  This particular one though is my absolute favourite.  Yes, I know it’s another Christmas card, but it’s also now my favourite one this year so far.  It’s a beautiful Lily of the Valley image called Festive Fairy and I really love how she turned out.  I spent a bit of time on the internet before I started colouring her, looking for pointers to help me with the light and the shading.  Naturally the best example I found was on the amazing Bev Rochester’s blog so I took my cues from her, but going with my own colours.  I also received help from my wonderful fellow Brit ex-pat Deb, I was stuck with good Prisma skin colours and she told me which ones to use.

She was coloured with my Prisma’s and blended with mineral oil, and I have to say I think this is the best colouring I’ve done yet, I even added the blue edge to make her pop.  Her wings were lightly glittered with MS fine glitter, to allow the pale green colour of them to still show through.  The holly paper is from a Papermania pack and the music half circle is MME and it was traced using a saucer I happened to have on my desk at the time from a cookie I’d been snacking on!!  The papers were edged with DI Festive Berries, and the backing card is from The Paper Company.

The snowflakes are a Martha wide punch and the lovely flowers are all Wild Orchid Crafts.  The sentiment is from a TPC Studio set and it’s sitting on top of a Memory Box die.  The LO is based on the current sketch at the Jingle Belles Rock challenge.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~ The Paper Company ~ Gina K Pure Luxury White
  • DP: Ppaermania & MME
  • Stamps: LOTV Festive Fairy ~ TPC Studio Vintage Christmas
  • Ink: Distress Ink Festive Berries ~ Brilliance Cottage Ivy
  • Embellies: Martha Stewart Coarse and Fine Glitter ~ Stickles Frosted Lace ~ Flowers from WOC
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Memory Box Bistro Label Die ~ Martha Stewart Snowflake Punch

******************************************

Challenges:

Jingle Belles ~ Sketching In A Winter Wonderland

Allsorts ~ Things With Wings

Crafty Hazel’s Christmas Challenge ~ Snow and Snowflakes

Crafty Hazel’s Christmas Extra Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Winter Wonderland ~ It’s The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Sparkles Christmas Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Cute Card Thursday ~ An Eye For Detail

Addicted To Stamps And More ~ Bingo!  I chose glitter, stamps and free, with my free being flowers

Sweet Stampin Christmas ~ Snowflakes

