It’s Mother’s Day today in the UK and much of Europe, but in America Mother’s Day is the second Sunday in May.  This is the one that we observe as both our Mother’s have other offspring in the UK to give them cards and flowers on this date, and then in May, we surprise them with more.  However, we’re heading off to the UK in a few weeks and will be traveling back to the US on American Mother’s Day, so I’m making my cards ahead of time to take with me on the trip to leave in England.  This is the first one,  using a Penny Black image and a rather grungy inking techniques, so it’s definitely not your average MD card!

I used PB Butterfly Suite as the main image but I think it’s the backing paper that’s the star here.  It’s not very often that I get inky and grungy, but I really do like a good play from time to time.  I started out with a piece of plain white card and inked it up with Distress Ink Milled Lavender, Worn Lipstick and Dusty Concord.  Most of the splodges come from flicking water onto the card which causes this mottled effect with the water based DI.  After that I sprayed liberally with Smooch Spritz in pink and Perfect Pearls Mist in gold.  The image was then stamped in Colorbox Wicked Black, and then stamped again in Memento London Fog.  The second images were coloured with the same three DI inks, plus a little Aged Mahogany on the butterfly, sprayed with the Smootz Shimmer Spray and dabbed over with some Crystal Stickles.

I’ve tried the same technique on the other butterfly (twice) and I just can’t get anything I’m happy with yet, so for now I’m leaving it off!  I stuck the main panel on to the card blank and then scored a raised line just above and below it with my Scorpal, then I stuck the flower head and butterfly down.  The sentiment is masked from a larger clear stamp (All Things Grow With Love) by TPC Studio and it’s stamped in Memento Rose Bud.  Quite simple and quick to do, I was surprised at how effective the backing piece was and how little time it took to do!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~ GinaK Pure Luxury White
  • Stamp: Penny Black Butterfly Suite ~ TPC Studio Playful Expressions
  • Ink: Distress Ink Milled Lavender, Worn Lipstick, Aged Mahogany & Dusty Concord ~ Colorbox Wicked Black ~ Memento London Fog & Rosebud
  • Embellies: Crystal Stickles ~ Smooch Spritz in Pink ~ Perfect Pearls Mist in Biscotti
  • Tools: Scorpal

************************************************

Challenges:

Joanna Sheen Challenge ~ Mum’s The Word

Addicted To Stamps And More ~ Clean & Simple

Floral Fantasies ~ Make a card inspired by Brenda or her blog (inky techniques, stamping and Penny Black stamp)

Pixies Crafty Snippets Challenge ~ Use Up Your Scraps (the GinaK card is an offcut)

One Stop Craft Challenge ~ Spring

PBSC – Spring Is In The Air

