Back again with another Christmas card!  I saw a fantastic technique for a gate fold card over on Beccy’s Place blog, making an opening in the “gate” with a die and then placing your image so it shows through the aperture.  I just had to give it a go.  I’ve linked her name to the post she did for this, so pop over for the instructions and a boatload of inspiration.

I started off with a half sheet of kraft card and folded it to make a gatefold card.  I used a Go Create die to make my aperture in the kraft, and then used it again on the gingham paper to make the matching front.  It took a while to get those gingham pieces positioned correctly before I felt confident enough to stick them down I can tell you!  I then cut a square piece of the spotty paper for the inside and another spotty piece was cut with the die aperture again for the inside of the gatefold.

And I’ve just realised looking at this pic that I haven’t actually stuck those die cut spotty pieces to the inside of the card!!  They must be still on my desk somewhere, lol!!  I also doodled around the outside aperture with a green pen.  The image is Penny Black, from the  clear set Jolly Follies that I rarely use for some reason, must be saving it for a special day or something!  I coloured him with my Prisma pencils and added some Black Diamond Stickles for his eyes and buttons and some Crystal Stickles for the snow.  A few punched snowflakes and some gems finished it off nicely.

Excuse my fingers holding the card down, but this is what it looks like when you hold the “gate” closed.  The image is actually centered even though it doesn’t look it in this shot.  I’ll definitely have another go at this technique, as like a lot of people, I have a number of Spellbinder dies that would work a treat for this.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Kraft Card and Snowflakes cut from The Paper Company card stock
  • DP: DCWV Tis The Season Stack
  • Stamp: Penny Black Jolly Follies (both the image and the sentiment)
  • Ink: ColorBox Wicked Black
  • Embellies: Black Diamond & Crystal Stickles ~ Gems from Colorbok ~ Prisma Pencils ~ Whispers Green Pen
  • Tools: Go Create Frilly Concentric Square #2 ~ Martha Stewart & Fiskars Snowflake punches

****************************************************************

Challenges:

Rudolph Day ~ Make A Christmas Card

ABC Christmas ~ K for Kept Safe – That stamp set is definitely very safe, it never sees the light of day!

PBSC ~ Anything Goes (yes I know, another Christmas card, sorry!!)

Crafty Hazel’s Christmas Extra Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Pixies Crafty Snippets Playground ~ Use Up Your Scraps (The entire card is made from scraps and offcuts)

Simon Says Stamp Challenge ~ Anything Goes

