Hello everyone.  Time for a new challenge over at Sparkles this month, and I’m betting it’s going to be a popular one too.  We’d like to see projects with either a Steampunk or a Vintage theme, so get your thinking caps on, you’ll have until July 10th to join in the fun.

Our sponsor this month is the wonderful Crafty Ribbons, they have a fantastic selection of ribbons, trim, buttons and even digi stamps and papers in ranges that match their ribbon!  They’re offering a fantastic ribbon bundle as a prize this month, details on the Sparkles blog.

Crafty Ribbons is a ribbon emporium, we are passionate about ribbons and want to share our fantastic ribbons with others. Our range of Christmas ribbons is second to none.  Remember when we only used ribbons to add a bow to our hair, or tie up a birthday parcel?  Ribbons are now a “must-have” for all types of craft.  Whether your project requires satin, sheer, silk, grosgrain, gingham or polka dot ribbon we have them all!  Lots and lots of different colours in a range of widths. Need a little bit of ribbon inspiration – then have a look at our projects on our blog,or visit our Inspiration blog, or maybe join in with us at our Challenge blog.  Go on, have a look… It’s worth it !
Tony & Ali
So for my card this month I went down  the Vintage route.  Chickened out I know!  I did consider Steampunk, for about all of three minutes, lol!
There’s a tremendous amount going on here as I made the backing paper by hand.  I started by stamping a postcard stamp and a French text stamp in the top left and bottom right corners and embossed them in white.  I then pulled out a few Distress Inks and blended them all over the card (Bundled Sage, Milled Lavender and Tumbled Glass).  The stamps were next, a motley assortment from Fiskars, Inkadinkado and Recollections, stamped with various Memento inks and then the panel was sprayed with Perfect Pearls Mist in Biscotti and a tiny spray here and there of Smooch Spritz .  It needed something else, but I didn’t know what, I wanted to shabby it up a bit and so broke open the Frantage Embossing Enamel that had arrived a few days earlier, gritted my teeth and gave it a go!!  I practised on a scrap bit of the same stamping card first as you heat it from underneath, but oh my!  I’m in love, I have a new addiction!!  You must run out and buy some, lol!
After that I cut a couple of Memory Box dies from plum DCWV card and then edged the whole thing with DI Dusty Concord.  I then went and laid down in a darkened room for a while cause this whole thing had taken me the best part of three days to get to this point and almost went in the bin more than once!
The main stamped panel is a lovely Stampendous cling stamp called Botanical Asperula, it has a lovely aged look to it.  It was stamped in Versamagic Perfect Plumeria and given the Frantage treatment.  A little distressing was done with Milled Lavender DI and a Tonic edge distressing tool before being edged with the Dusty Concord ink and mounted on to Bazzil “Hazel” card, which was also distressed.  I added a little bit of seam binding, some jute twin and a button.  The last thing was a little butterfly from a Martha Stewart punch.  I actually punched it from the test Frantage scrap, rather that waste it, and gave it a little spray with the Smooch Spritz.  I think that’s about it!  This card used a ton of stuff, the mess it created was epic.  Or perhaps I created that bit, lol.
Please pop over and see what my fab team mates have created for this challenge, and we’d love to have you join us if you have time.
Card Recipe:
  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~ DCWV Plum card ~ Bazzil Hazel card ~ GinaK Pure Luxury White
  • Stamps: Stampendous Carte Postal & Cling Botanical Asperula ~ Stampabilities Le London Script ~ Recollections Formal Esque & Paris ~ Inkadinkado Dot Flourishes & Garden Flower ~ Fiskars Tartan ‘n Time
  • Ink: Distress Ink Bundled Sage, Tumbled Glass, Milled Lavender & Dusty Concord ~ Memento Paris Dusk & Pear Tart ~ Versamagic Sahara Sand, Malted Mauve & Perfect Plumeria ~ Versamark
  • Embellies: JoAnn White EP ~ Frantage Shabby Rose, Shabby Blue & Shappy White Embossing Enamels ~ Perfect Pearls Spray ~ Smooch Spritz ~ Seam Bunding ~ Jute Twine ~ Rhonna Farrer Button
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Memory Box Elegant Scrollwork Die ~ Tonic Distressing Tool ~ MS Butterfly Punch

*****************************************************

Challenges:

Stamping Senstaions ~ Summer Blooms

Crafty ribbons ~ Anything Goes With Ribbon (I used seam binding)

Bearly Mine ~ Anything Goes

