It’s the 25th of the month again (well it was on Tuesday!), so it’s time for another Rudolph Day challenge over at Sarn’s.  All you have to do is make a Christmas project and link it up, there’s a lovely prize for a randomly selected participant too and as there’s only 181 days until Christmas it’s not too early to start thinking about getting your cards made!

I decided to combine a couple of challenges.  I especially wanted to have another go at the digital challenge at Jingle Belles, I hit that one quite by chance last week and I wanted to make a card with more digi elements on it as I have a lot of freebie papers printouts, sentiments etc that I like to use.

My image is a Saturated Canary one called Molly the Elf, I was lucky enough to win a couple on another challenge last year, this is Molly’s first outing.  I masked her and stamped the presents at her feet and then coloured everything in with Prisma pencils.  The fur trim on her coat and boots is white flocking powder and her buttons are Perfect Pearls.  The red bobble on her shoes and hat have Frosted Lace Stickles on the them.  I then cut her out with a Spellbinders Label Eight, allowing the presents to fall out side the cut line somewhat and then mounted her on a scrap or burgundy card.  She is centered on the card too, it’s my photography that’s off, not the matting card!  The papers are both digital and they’re both free, I’d love to tell you where I got them but I haven’t yet found them in my print files!  Edit – The large dots are from Shabby Princess, from the Seasonal Sampler, still can’t find the blue piece though! Must have got thees before I started storing everything properly.  The sentiment is also a digi freebie, thought it was a perfect fit, I got this one at Bird’sCards, lots of great stuff to be had at that site.  I coloured the little tops of the Elf boots with a red pencil.

All the papers were edged with DI Festive Berries, the ribbon is from American Crafts and I based the LO on the current Sketch Saturday challenge, although I had to more the sentiment as it was too big to go where the sketch had it!  The red pearls are from Michaels.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~ The Paper Company ~ GinaK Pure Luxury White
  • DP: Free digi downloads from Shabby Princess
  • Stamp: Saturated Canary Molly Elf digi ~ Bird Card’s free digi sentiment ~ Present stamps free with a UK card magazine
  • Ink: Distress Ink Festive Berries ~ Memento London Fog
  • Embellies: Prisma Pencils ~ Martha Stewart White Swan Flocking Powder ~ Perfect Pearls ~ Frosted Lace Stickles ~ Pearls from Michaels ~ American Craft Adhesive Ribbon
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Spellbinders Labels Eight ~ Fiskars Corner Rounder ~ Computer & Printer ~ Foam Tape

*************************************************

Challenges:

Rudolph Day ~ Make A Christmas Project

Jingle Belles ~ We Wish You A Digital Christmas

Winter Wonderland ~ Christmas Presents

Sketch Saturday ~ Pick a Favourite of Jen’s Sketches (I used sketch number 235)

Crafty Hazel’s Christmas Extra Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Pixies Crafty Snippets Playground ~ Use Up Your Scraps (The blue digi paper, the white stamping card and the burgundy are all scraps)

