Morning all, I’m very happy to announce that I have a wonderful new blog badge to share with you all.  Shaz at Sparkles Christmas Challenges asked me to join their team a couple of weeks ago and I jumped at the chance as I love to make Christmas projects (but I think you might know that already, lol!).  This is my first post as part of their DT.

So our challenge for this month is Anything But A Card and we have a fab sponsor in the shape of Di’s Digi’s, the lucky winner will receive a $10 voucher to spend in the store.

So for my first post as part of the team I pushed the boat out and made two projects!  A bit of an over achiever perhaps, but don’t worry, it won’t last!  Actually I made two projects because I had no idea how the first one would turn out, it required a lot of cutting and my cutting skills aren’t that great, so to be safe I made a second, simpler project.

First up is this large snowflake decoration:

It measure about 9″ across and is made up of six individual petals.  These were made out of plain, cheap white copy paper (you can’t use anything too thick otherwise you won’t be able to fold them back without creasing).  Before cutting I stamped them on the front side with a little snowflake stamp from a Kanban set using Memento Rosebud Ink.  To cover the middle section, where all six petals come together, I made a medallion and added a little clear snowflake embellishment.  I decided which way it was going to hang, punched a small hole and threaded through some baker’s twine.

The template and instructions to make this can be found here, they use a craft knife for the cutting but in the comments it tells you a better way to cut, using scissors, so make sure to read them!.

Challenges:

Crafty Hazel’s Christmas Extra Challenge ~ Anything Goes

******************************************************************

Next up, I made a treat bag.  I save the little clear bags from craft purchases and have a few of them stashed for just such a project!  I kept this quick and simple, using scraps of card and a digital image.

The flap was made with a Spellbinders Label Seventeen, which was the embossed with a Cuttlebug Swirls embossing folder and mounted on to red paper cut to the same shape.  The sentiment is Penny Black.  The lovely little snowman is a free digi download from The Paper Garden site, but it no longer appears to be there.  I coloured him with Prisma pencils and added some Crystal and Black Diamond Stickles which just isn’t showing up!

Challenges:

Pixies Crafty Workshop ~ Use Up Your Scraps

Crimbo Crackers ~ Embossing

Crafty Hazel’s Christmas Challenge ~ Use Three Main Colours (Red, White & Blue)

Crafty Hazel’s Christmas Extra Challenge ~ Anything Goes

*****************************************************************

Please pop over to the main blog and see the lovely gift ideas my teamies have come up with.  You have until the 30th October to join in, we’d love to have you.

