Hello Everyone and welcome to the first challenge of 2014 for Sparkles Monthly!  We have some wonderful challenges lined up for you this year.  Along with our wonderful returning sponsors from last year we also have some stunning new ones too, the first of which is our sponsor this month.  It’s none other than the fabulous Marianne Designs company from The Netherlands, and their very generous prize is  ONE DIE and ONE STAMP!  How brilliant is that!??

So onto the challenge, it’s a very easy one to start you off this month, Show Us Your New Stash.  I’m sure we all got new crafty goodies either for Christmas or in the Sales, so we’d like you to use some of them on your project.  Remember to tell us what you got!

My new stash this year was mainly Christmas related, but I did get a couple of non Christmas Memory Box dies and two new Distress Inks.  I used the inks and one of the dies on my card.

I used the Meadow Leaf die as a stencil, cutting out a number of them from scraps of paper and lightly gluing them on to my card.  I dabbed on Mowed Lawn and Peacock Feathers ink, I would have liked to have blended them a bit more but I was concerned I might dislodge the leaf stencils and ruin the bare card underneath!

I went around the card with Peacock Feathers ink before mounting it on to green card and sticking it on my blank.  I cut a strip of the same green card, shaped the end and stamped a sentiment from a clear Inkadinkado set, added it to the card and finished it off with a few pale blue gems.  I die cut the leaf again from a number of different coloured green and blue scraps to see which one would work best before settling on this blue one.

I honestly thought that the leaves that I used as stencils would just be thrown in the bin when I was done, but they all look fantastic so I used one on the inside, just need to figure out a way to store them now as they all have a bit of glue on the back!!

Please pop over to the Sparkles Monthly Challenge blog to see the wonderful inspiration from my teamies, and we hope you join in with us.  Happy crafting in 2014!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~ GinaK Pure Luxury White ~ The Paper Company White & Green
  • Stamp: Inkadinkado Sending Wishes Clear set
  • Ink: Distress Ink Mowed Lawn & Peacock Feathers ~ ColorBox Wicked Black
  • Embellies: Gems from Michael’s
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Poppy Stamps/Memory Box Meadow Leaf Die

*******************************************************

Challenges:

Pixies Snippets Playground ~ Use Up Your Scraps (The leaf stencils and the die cut blue leaf)

Sister Act Card Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Stampin For The Weekend ~ Anything Goes

Crafty Calendar Challenge ~ Let’s Celebrate

Papertake Weekly ~ New Year, New Stash

Through The Craft Room Door ~ Anything Goes

Craft Your Passion ~ Cool Colours

ALBC ~ Celebrate

