Greetings and warm wishes to you.  Don’t faint!  I made a card, lol!  I know it’s been a while, February was the month from hell for me at work and on the home front I really think the long winter here finally got to me as I just wanted to curl up and do nothing.  I think I allowed everything to get a bit on top of me to be honest!  But I kicked myself up the rear, tidied my craft room and looked around for some inspiration to mess it up again.

I found it in the current sketch from Christmas Challenges with Sketches, Crafty Hazel’s Christmas Challenge (Spread Your Wings) and Winter Wonderland’s Christmas Couple.  I have a lovely Sugar Nellie penguin stamp called Warm Wishes that had yet to see ink, and I do rather like their knitted fairisle scarf that’s keeping them warm.

The papers are all Memory Box, from the Yuletide and Mistletoe packs and they’re all scrap pieces with the exception of the large solid red backing piece, they were all edged with Versamagic Gingerbread ink.  I coloured my image with my Prisma pencils, adding Martha Stewart fine glitter to the hat trim and also to the embossed edge of the Spellbinders Labels Twelve die that I used cut it out with.

I used two new Memory Box dies that I got for Christmas and used scrap pieces of kraft card to cut them out from, then added some red gems.  I was a bit hasty in getting the photos last night and didn’t let the glue on the snowflake dry properly!  I also added a tag with a brad from Echo Park top left, I got these when Archivers were closing all their shops in February.

I also decorated the inside while I was at it, with some scrap cream card, the little snip that was left over from the backing paper and a snowflake from JoyCrafts, cut from more of the scrap kraft card.  I dabbed a little Fired Brick DI around the edges of the snowflake, added a gem and then stamped the Kanban sentiment in the same DI ink.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: The Paper Company Kraft and Cream ~ GinaK Pure Luxury White
  • DP: Memory Box Mistletoe & Yuletide Packs
  • Stamps: Sugar Nellie Warm Wishes ~ Kanban
  • Ink: ColorBox Wicked Black ~ Distress Ink Fired Brick
  • Embellies: Prisma Pencils ~ Martha Stewart Fine Glitter ~ Gems from Michael’s and Colorbok ~ Echo Park Brad/Tag
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Memory Box Frosty Border & Precious Snowflake Dies ~ Spellbinders Labels Twelve Die

****************************************

Challenges:

Christmas Cards w/Sketches ~ Current Sketch

Winter Wonderland ~ Christmas Couple

Crafty Hazel’s Christmas Challenge ~ Spread Your Wings

Crafty Hazel’s Christmas Extra Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Crafty Hazel’s Patterned Paper Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Pixies Snippets Playground ~ Use Up Your Scraps (yay, I’m back!!)

Completely Christmas Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Papertake Weekly ~ Anything Goes

Sister Act Card Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Christmas Fun Challenge ~ Baubles & Bows OR Anything Goes

Sparkle & Sprinkle ~ Loose Glitter, Flock or Embossing Powder

Crafty Calendar Challenge ~ Animal Antics

Simon Says Stamp ~ Tag It (Top left corner, Echo Park tag with brad)

